Van Morrison Hosting First-Ever Virtual Performance 5/8 to Celebrate New Album ‘Latest Record Project: Volume 1’

Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On May 7, Van Morrison will release Latest Record Project: Volume 1, a new double-album that the legendary (and always outspoken) singer/songwriter has been previewing in recent weeks.

Thus far, it sounds as if much of Latest Record Project: Volume 1 is a bit “meta” in nature, with Morrison taking on an interesting perspective as an observer of music itself. Take “Only a Song,” one of the pre-release previews, for example:

It’s only a poem, it could change in the long run, it’s only a song
It’s what I said then just to make it rhyme
Could have been on my mind at the time
Putting paper to pen, it’s only a song, it’s only a song

Click here to pre-order Latest Record Project: Volume 1 on Deluxe CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Latest Record Project: Volume 1 on 3-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

The day before the album’s release, Van Morrison and his band will host a special streaming concert event, his first-ever virtual performance, billed as “a livestream event from the renowned Real World Studios in Wiltshire that will see him debut some brand new songs alongside a selection of classic tracks.”

More details on the show, which will be available via and starts at $14.99:

The event is a partnership with, the leading music platform for live concert streams and recordings. The platform hosts live streams and professionally recorded archive concerts from iconic artists. Fans can tune in to the performance live on Saturday, May 8 at 3pm EST. Tickets are available to pre-order here.

Here’s another new song, “Latest Record Project”:

Have you got my latest songs I’m singing? You got my latest songs I’m singing? Not something from so long ago:

Per a news release, the expansive Latest Record Project: Volume 1 is the result of our enforced period of isolation. Unable to tour, Morrison remained busy with constant songwriting, starting ideas on piano, guitar or saxophone. What emerged is a wealth of new material, which shimmers with a directness and vibrancy that comes from working with a rhythm section with whom he shares an immediate, spontaneous connection.

Here’s the track listing — make note of titles such as “Stop Bitching, Do Something,” “They Own the Media” and “Why Are You On Facebook?” — as it sure looks like Van Morrison is keeping himself concerned with contemporary issues this time around:

1. Latest Record Project
2. Where Have All the Rebels Gone?
3. Psychoanalysts’ Ball
4. No Good Deed Goes Unpunished
5. Tried to Do the Right Thing
6. The Long Con
7. Thank God for the Blues
8. Big Lie
9. A Few Bars Early

1. It Hurts Me Too
2. Only a Song
3. Diabolic Pressure
4. Deadbeat Saturday Night
5. Blue Funk
6. Double Agent
7. Double Bind
8. Love Should Come With A Warning
9. Breaking The Spell
10. Up County Down

1. Duper’s Delight
2. My Time After a While
3. He’s Not the Kingpin
4. Mistaken Identity
5. Stop Bitching, Do Something
6. Western Man
7. They Own the Media
8. Why Are You on Facebook?
9. Jealousy


  • Grace Dana says:

    Thank God!!!!!! Real Music!!! Real Lyrics. Real words about life and relationships!!!!!!! So Happy to hear this music. Magic!!!! In a zombie world attached to I phones social media and laptops!!!!!!!! Where have all the Rebels Gone??? We are still here!!!!! With you! Just a few! Review by Mark Richardson needs to be put in Garbage journalism!!!!!!! What a jerk!!! Morone!!! I’m going to write the Editor. Owner! Get him fired! Lies !!!! Bad review!!! Awful writer. Awful person!! He should have celebrated this gift from Van Morrison!!!!!!❤️👍🏝

  • Joanne kerrigan says:

    Unable to live stream concert I paid for

  • Michael little says:

    Is Georgie game playing on the Livestream?

  • Kim says:

    Loving this whole production!
    Kudos to nugs!
    Fantastic presentation!
    Exquisite camera work, great sound mix, Mr. Morrison is in fine form, indeed.
    The band is tight, nailed it!
    The back up singer is perfect!
    The lack of applause has its charm, I suppose.
    Miss the real deal, but this works for me!
    I sure hope it works for all involved!
    Again, would be nice.
    Sooner than later!

  • SHARE.

    Related Posts