Check out our Youtube Channel

Video interviews with all your favorite stars!

Download all your music here

The Music of Cream (Kofi Baker, Malcolm Bruce and Will Johns) Announce 2020 ‘Disraeli Gears’ Tour

0

The Music of Cream is a reverent musical tribute project featuring band members with exceptionally close ties to Cream, and in 2020 Kofi Baker (son of Ginger Baker, legendary drummer who just passed away at the age of 80), Malcolm Bruce (son of Jack Bruce, who passed in 2014) and Will Johns (Eric Clapton’s nephew) will be honoring the music of their fathers (and uncle) with a special Disraeli Gears tour.

It’ll be a pretty big one, too — a 40-date outing bringing the band to all corners of the country that will find them playing the album in its entirety, plus a second set of rarities and classics from the Cream, Blind Faith catalogs and more.

The Music of Cream touring project first set sail around the world in 2017 to mark Cream’s 50th anniversary, and the timing felt right to do it once again now, as evidenced by these quotes from Baker, Bruce and Johns:

“To follow our 50th Anniversary Tour, it was a no-brainer to go out and celebrate Disraeli Gears in its entirety,” shares Kofi Baker (drums). “There are songs that are quite different, they wanted to challenge everything! And from a personal point of view, it gives me the opportunity to perform another song my dad wrote, called ‘Blue Condition,’ that I really like. I also loved the artwork for the album; my sister and I used to laugh because we said you could see up my dad’s nose. Happy memories that we can bring to the stage.”

“Why Disraeli Gears? Well, that’s easy for me,” says Will Johns (guitar, vocals). “It was the birth of the wah-wah pedal and you gotta love the wah-wah! That we can interpret such groundbreaking music and continue to tell Cream’s story is as exciting for us as we know it was for the band when they recorded it all those years ago. Like my Uncle, I am a blues man through and through and on this record, there’s some fantastic interpretations of this genre, the likes of ‘Lawdy Mama’ and ‘Outside Woman Blues,’ so it doesn’t get better than that!”

“There are many reasons I love the idea of performing Cream’s second album Disraeli Gears,” adds Malcolm Bruce (bass, vocals). “Many of Cream’s best-known songs are on the record including ‘Sunshine of Your Love,’ ‘Strange Brew’ and ‘SWLABR.’ But importantly to me, perhaps my favorite Cream song, and I think my Dad’s too, ‘We’re Going Wrong,’ is on there as well. It has always been such a special song to perform, so open in its possibilities for improvisation, and lyrically, the song works on a number of levels, both personal and universal. I also love some of the less well-known songs on the album like ‘World of Pain’ and ‘Dance the Night Away.’ It even contains comedy elements in ‘Mother’s Lament.’ Overall, it is a very cohesive set to perform. We are looking forward to it!”

Catch a show from the following dates:

Friday, February 28 Victoria, BC @ McPherson Playhouse
Saturday, February 29 Vancouver, BC @ Rickshaw Theatre
Sunday, March 1 Bellingham, WA @ Wild Buffalo House of Music
Tuesday, March 3 Seattle, WA @ Triple Door
Wednesday, March 4 Spokane, WA @ Bing Crosby Theater
Thursday, March 5 Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theatre
Friday, March 6 Mill Valley, CA @ Sweetwater Music Hall
Saturday, March 7 Santa Barbara, CA @ Soho Restaurant and Music Club
Sunday, March 8 San Diego, CA @ Balboa Theatre
Tuesday, March 10 Folsom, CA @ Harris Center for the Arts
Wednesday, March 11 San Juan Capistrano, CA @ The Coach House
Saturday, March 14 Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
Sunday, March 15 Tucson, AZ @ Fox Tucson Theatre
Tuesday, March 17 Beaver Creek, CO @ Vilar Performing Arts Center
Thursday, March 19 Boulder, CO @ Boulder Theatre
Saturday, March 21 Greenville, TX @ Texan Theater
Sunday, March 22 Baton Rouge, LA @ Spanish Moon
Tuesday, Mach 24 Ponte Vedra, FL @ Ponte Vedra Concert Hall
Wednesday, March 25 Ft. Lauderdale, FL @ The Parker Playhouse
Thursday, March 26 Lakeland, FL @ Youkey Theatre
Friday, March 27 Bonita Springs, FL @ Southwest Florida Event Center
March 28-31 Miami, FL @ Flower Power Cruise
Thursday, April 2 Birmingham, AL @ Workplay
Friday, April 3 Atlanta, GA @ Center Stage
Monday, April 6 Greensboro, NC @ Carolina Theatre
Tuesday, April 7 Annapolis, MD @ Rams Head On Stage
Thursday, April 9 Alexandria, VA @ The Birchmere
Friday, April 10 Glenside, PA @ Keswick Theatre
Tuesday, April 14 Ridgefield, CT @ The Ridgefield Playhouse
Thursday, April 16 Huntington, NY @ The Paramount
Friday, April 17 Montclair, NJ @ The Wellmont Theater
Saturday, April 18 Derry, NH @ Tupelo Music Hall
Sunday, April 19 Boston, MA @ The Wilbur
Tuesday, April 21 Pittsburgh, PA @ Jergel’s Rhythm Grille
Friday, April 24 Toronto, ON @ Queen Elizabeth Theatre
Sunday, April 26 Chicago, IL @ Park West
Tuesday, April 28 Milwaukee, WI @ Pabst Theater
Wednesday, April 29 Omaha, NE @ Slowdown
Friday, May 1 Jackson, MS @ Duling Hall
Sunday, May 3 Austin, TX @ 3Ten ACL Live

Share.

Comments are closed.