Watch The Immediate Family’s Russ Kunkel + Leland Sklar Talk Shop in a Three-Part Interview Hosted by Don Lombardi of DrumChannel.com


Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine
SHARE.

Russ Kunkel and Leland Sklar, both of the rock and roll supergroup The Immediate Family, took part in a new, three-part video series that premiered on DrumChannel.com this week.

Hosted by Don Lombardi, CEO of DrumChannel.com and founder of Drum Workshop Inc., the spirited conversation touches on a number of topics. Said Lombardi of the interview:

“The interview is a great lesson on feel, pocket, groove, musicality and their life experiences. It was an honor to host this interview with these two legends, and I know you will enjoy it as much as I do.”  

As with all programming at DrumChannel.com, the three-part interview is available for paid members of the site … but it’s also currently available for anybody via the DrumChannel YouTube page, where it will be viewable for 30 days. Think of it as a preview of the sort of content available at DrumChannel.com.

Here’s the full interview between Russ Kunkel, Leland Sklar, and Don Lombardi:

The Immediate Family is a venerable who’s-who of music industry legends involving Danny Kortchmar (guitar and vocals), Waddy Wachtel (guitar and vocals), Sklar (bass), Kunkel (drums) and Steve Postell (guitar and vocals). Having recently released a new EP, the group is doing what it can to help spread the magic of music to the masses.

The DrumChannel.com interview series comes as members of the group will also be participating in Believe in Music Week, the virtual edition of the NAMM Show (National Association of Music Merchants), which shifted online rather than its traditional in-person event in Southern California due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Click here to visit the NAMM website to register for Believe in Music Week, and be sure to catch members of the Immediate Family during the rest of the week’s programming:

Here’s information regarding the educational sessions that members of the Immediate Family will be participating in during NAMM’s Believe in Music Week:

As part of the show’s TEC Tracks series, members of The Immediate Family will be participating in four different sessions between Thursday, January 21, and Friday, January 22:

  • On Thursday at 2:40 p.m. EST / 11:40 PST, Leland Sklar will be interviewed by David Goggin (“Mr. Bonzai”) in a session titled “Leland Sklar Demonstrates His Famous Basses,” in which Sklar will share some of his most beloved instruments and explain how he achieves his iconic sound.
  • Also on Thursday, at 5 p.m. EST / 2 p.m. PST, Waddy Wachtel and Danny Kortchmar will be interviewed by Peter Asher, followed by a live Q&A. You’ll hear them tell amazing stories about the early days in the studios with Linda Ronstadt, James Taylor, Carole King and many other generation-defining performers—from the point of view of the producers, managers and session players who crafted the sounds. This conversation has been waiting 50 years to happen!
  • On Friday at 1:20 p.m. EST / 10:20 a.m. PST, Leland Sklar will be part of the panel “The Sessions and Rock ‘N’ Roll Royalty Reunite.” In this presentation, Sklar, Jim Keltner and Steve Lukather will be joined by Liberty Devitto, Dom Famularo and Paul Quin. These artists have brought you thousands of songs, and now they’ll share their 2020 projects despite recent challenges. They’ll also look at how The Beatles impacted them and how the power of music can bring hope, happiness, unity and love to humanity. The Sessions’ mission is to enrich, educate and empower artists, and these 30 minutes will do that!
  • Later on Friday, at 2:00 p.m. EST / 11 a.m. PST, “Russ Kunkel on Hand Percussion” will pair Kunkel with David Goggin (“Mr. Bonzai”) as Kunkel demonstrates the gentle art of hand percussion as an integral part of his work in the recording studio. 


SHARE.


Related Posts