The Doobie Brothers (Tom Johnston, Michael McDonald, Pat Simmons, John McFee) Announce 50th Anniversary Tour


Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine
SHARE.

For the first time in 25 years, the Doobie Brothers — specifically, the lineup including Tom Johnston, Michael McDonald, Patt Simmons and John McFee — will join forces for a special tour commemorating the band‘s 50th anniversary.

Announced on Tuesday, the tour also works as a celebration of the Doobies’ inclusion in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s Class of 2020 nominees list.

So, it’s basically a huge victory lap for the classic band, which is well deserved. And the news came in rather dramatic fashion, too:

The announcement came at the conclusion of the band’s performance at the legendary Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, Tennessee, in which they played two of their iconic albums, Toulouse Street and The Captain and Me. MICHAEL MCDONALD took to the stage during the band’s encore and gave a surprise performance of The Doobie Brothers’ smash hit single, “Takin’ It To The Streets,” before Pat Simmons announced that the entire band would be teaming up for a North American tour.

Said Johnston in a statement:

“We’re truly excited about our 50th Anniversary Tour, as it’s a celebration of the band’s entire history. We’ll be performing songs from our full catalog, as well as new music.”

That “new music” Johnston mentions in the quote above is presumably the same as the EP Pat Simmons recently told us the band is working on — so stay tuned in that regard!

And McDonald, on reconvening with his pals for this tour:

“With the Doobies, everybody in the band was proud to be a Doobie Brother. And to this day, I think of myself as a Doobie Brother — all these years later.”

And here’s the list of dates for the 50th anniversary tour:

Tue Jun 09 West Palm Beach, FL Coral Sky Amphitheatre
Wed Jun 10 Tampa, FL MIDFLORIDA Credit Union Amphitheatre
Sun Jun 14 Alpharetta, GA Ameris Bank Amphitheatre (Formerly Verizon Amphitheatre)
Wed Jun 17 Nashville, TN Bridgestone Arena
Fri Jun 19 Charlotte, NC PNC Music Pavilion
Sat Jun 20 Raleigh, NC Coastal Credit Union Music Park at Walnut Creek
Tue Jun 23 Virginia Beach, VA Veterans United Home Loans Amphitheater at Virginia Beach
Wed Jun 24 Bristow, VA Jiffy Lube Live
Fri Jun 26 Allentown, PA PPL Center
Sat Jun 27 Camden, NJ BB&T Pavilion
Mon Jun 29 Holmdel, NJ PNC Bank Arts Center
Tue Jun 30 Wantagh, NY Northwell Health at Jones Beach Theater
Thu Jul 02 Uncasville, CT Mohegan Sun Arena
Fri Jul 03 Mansfield, MA Xfinity Center
Sun Jul 19 Toronto, ON Budweiser Stage
Wed Jul 22 Cuyahoga Falls, OH Blossom Music Center
Sun Jul 26 Saratoga Springs, NY Saratoga Performing Arts Center
Thu Jul 30 Noblesville, IN Ruoff Home Mortgage Music Center
Sun Aug 02 Clarkston, MI DTE Energy Music Theatre
Tue Aug 04 Cincinnati, OH Riverbend Music Center
Sat Aug 08 Tinley Park, IL Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre – Chicago
Fri Aug 14 St. Louis, MO Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre – St. Louis
Sun Aug 30 Denver, CO Pepsi Center
Wed Sep 02 Salt Lake City, UT USANA Amphitheatre
Sat Sep 05 Seattle, WA White River Amphitheatre
Sat Sep 12 Mountain View, CA Shoreline Amphitheatre
Fri Sep 18 Los Angeles, CA The Forum
Sat Oct 03 Phoenix, AZ Ak-Chin Pavilion
Fri Oct 09 Irving, TX Toyota Music Factory
Sat Oct 10 Houston, TX The Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion

 


SHARE.


Related Posts