Listen to The Darkness’ New Song About a ‘Devoted Sex Robot’ — “Motorheart” Album Coming 11/19

Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

It’s hard to believe it’s almost been twenty years since English glam/rock band The Darkness emerged with 2003’s Permission To Land, a record that put the ensemble on the map thanks to the riffy, falsetto ear candy of “I Believe In A Thing Called Love.”

Two decades on, the band continues to do its thing, and will return on Nov. 19 with Motorheart, a new album characterized in a news release as “a record of immeasurable rock and roll extravagance.”

As a preview, here’s the lyric video for the title track. According to the news release, the whole album is an “homage to a devoted sex robot,” which sounds patently ridiculous — precisely as the Darkness would want.

Click here to pre-order Motorheart on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Motorheart on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

“Motorheart rocks harder than anything we’ve done before,” said Hawkins in a statement. “It makes me happy and proud to crank it up and literally shake my Swiss chalet to its foundations. Dan did an awesome job on the production, it’ll take your face off, but your skull will be grinning from meatus to meatus. Please, to enjoy.”

More on the record’s expected wildness:

Drop the needle anywhere on Motorheart and be instantly transported from this moaning and weeping vale of tears to Elysian fields of rock where all hands are raised, the drinks – just as in the Club Tropicana of yore – are free, and everyone wears a pleasingly salacious grin. Does it rock? Is the sun hot? Has your partner’s touch grown cold? The Darkness are the Orwellian boot stamping on the flaccid face of limp rock, forever!

The Darkness (Photo: Simon Emmett)

The Darkness (Photo: Simon Emmett)

The Darkness is frontman/guitarist Justin Hawkins, guitarist/producer Dan Hawkins, bassist Frankie Poullain and drummer Rufus Taylor. Motorheart will be the band’s seventh studio album overall and the follow-up to 2019’s Easter is Cancelled.

The album’s track listing:

Welcome Tae Glasgae
It’s Love, Jim
The Power And The Glory Of Love
Jussy’s Girl
Sticky Situations
Nobody Can See Me Cry
Speed Of The Nite Time
*You Don’t Have To Be Crazy About Me… But It Helps
*It’s A Love Thang (You Wouldn’t Understand)
*So Long
*bonus deluxe tracks


Related Posts