50th Anniversary Edition of the Band’s 1969 Self-Titled ‘Brown’ Album Coming in November

Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Sept. 22, 1969 was the date that the Band released its self-titled second record, which would go on to be referred to as The Brown Album, occupying a key space in the iconic group’s catalog of music.

On Nov. 15, Capitol/UMe will release a special 50th anniversary edition of the album, in remixed and expanded format to mark the occasion. The record came with heightened anticipation, after the band‘s debut album Music from Big Pink caught folks by surprise, the band’s near-mythical approach and reclusive personalities shrouding the entire project in a mysterious allure.

Via the news release;

Dressed like 19th century fire-and-brimstone preachers and singing rustic, sepia-toned songs about America and the deep south, The Band – Garth Hudson (keyboards, piano, horn), Levon Helm (drums, vocals, mandolin), Richard Manuel (keyboards, vocals, drums), Rick Danko (bass, vocals, fiddle) and Robbie Robertson (guitar, piano, vocals) – was an enigma, unlike any group that came before or after. And their self-titled “Brown Album,” as it would lovingly be called, cemented their status as one of the most exciting and revolutionary bands in years, on the strength of now-classic songs like “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down,” “Up On Cripple Creek” and “Rag Mama Rag.”

The 50th anniversary reissue project was overseen by guitarist/songwriter Robbie Robertson, and will come in a variety of formats, including:

Super Deluxe 2CD/Blu-ray/2LP/7-inch vinyl boxed set with a hardbound book



180-gram 2LP black vinyl

And limited edition 180-gram 2LP “tiger’s eye” color vinyl

As a preview of the set, here’s an alternate recording of “Rag Mama Rag” which has not been released previously:


Here’s the track listing for the 2-CD set version of the Brown Album reissue:

CD1; Digital

1. Across The Great Divide
2. Rag Mama Rag
3. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
4. When You Awake
5. Up On Cripple Creek
6. Whispering Pines
7. Jemima Surrender
8. Rockin’ Chair
9. Look Out Cleveland
10. Jawbone
11. The Unfaithful Servant
12. King Harvest (Has Surely Come)
Bonus Tracks:

1. Up On Cripple Creek (Earlier Take) *

2. Rag Mama Rag (Alternate Version) *

3. The Unfaithful Servant (Alternate Version) *

4. Look Out Cleveland (Instrumental Mix) *

5. Rockin’ Chair (A Cappella / Stripped Down) *

6. Up On Cripple Creek (Instrumental Mix) *
* Previous unreleased


CD2; Digital
Live At Woodstock, 1969 (Original Rough Mixes)

1. Chest Fever

2. Tears Of Rage

3. We Can Talk

4. Don’t Ya Tell Henry

5. Baby Don’t You Do It

6. Ain’t No More Cane On The Brazos

7. Long Black Veil

8. This Wheel’s On Fire

9. I Shall Be Released

10. The Weight

11. Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever

Additional Studio Bonus Tracks:

12. Get Up Jake (Outtake – Stereo Mix)

13. Rag Mama Rag (Alternate Vocal Take – Rough Mix)

14. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down (Alternate Mix)

15. Up On Cripple Creek (Alternate Take)

16. Whispering Pines (Alternate Take)

17. Jemima Surrender (Alternate Take)

18. King Harvest (Has Surely Come) (Alternate Performance)


Related Posts