Tame Impala: Stream ‘It Might Be Time,’ from New Album ‘The Slow Rush’ Out on Valentine’s Day 2020

Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Well, now we know what the mysterious website and video was all about last week: Celebrated indie/psychedelic band Tame Impala (helmed by mastermind Kevin Parker) will release its long awaited fourth album, The Slow Rush, on February 14, 2020.

The news officially came on Monday, along with the premiere of a new song titled “It Might Be Time.” Stream that tune below:

Tame Impala’s most recent studio album was 2015’s Currents, though Parker premiered two new songs earlier this year — first, “Patience”:

And then “Borderlines”:


All three of these songs appear on The Slow Rush, which Parker recorded in Los Angeles and Fremantle, Australia, his hometown.

The album’s overall themes sound pretty expansive, at least in terms of what the news release states:

The Slow Rush is Parker’s deep dive into the oceans of time, conjuring the feeling of a lifetime in a lightning bolt, of major milestones whizzing by while you’re looking at your phone, it’s a paean to creation and destruction and the unending cycle of life.

To that end,

The album cover was created in collaboration with photographer Neil Krug and features a symbol of humanity all but swallowed whole by the surrounding environment, as though in the blink of an eye.

Tame Impala will announce a big North American tour shortly in support of the album, so stay tuned for that.



Related Posts