Streaming Picks for This Weekend 8/7-8/9: The Who, Elton John, Grateful Dead, The Go-Go’s, More


Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine
SHARE.

It’s the weekend, again, which means one thing: There’s plenty of streaming events from the music world to keep you entertained at home — which is so important these days, as the COVID-19 pandemic continues its hold over our concept of “normalcy.” If you’re wondering what to stream this weekend, you’ve come to the right place. Here are our streaming picks for Aug. 7-9, 2020.

Here are some of Rock Cellar’s picks for can’t-miss streams this weekend.

Elton John Live From The Great Amphitheatre, Ephesus 2001 — Friday 8/7, YouTube

For much of the past few weeks, Sir Elton John has shared an archival live performance as part of the Classic Concert Series, a funraising effort for his Elton John Aids Foundation (EJAF). That six-week series concludes this weekend, with a special, intimate, just-Elton-and-his-piano performance from The Great Amphitheatre in Turkey, circa 2001.

Here’s a preview:

The full show will go up on Elton’s YouTube channel on Friday, Aug. 7 at 3 p.m. EDT/12 p.m. PDT:

The Who Shea Stadium 1982 — Sat. 8/8, YouTube

Elton’s six-part YouTube series may be ending, but The Who’s is just beginning — and on Saturday, the band will launch its Join Together @ Home series with a flashback to Shea Stadium in New York, circa 1982.

Each stream will be an opportunity for fans and viewers to make a donation to The Teenage Cancer Trust and Teen Cancer America — both organizations very close to the Who’s philanthropic endeavors:

“Join Together @ Home” is free to view, but fans are encouraged to donate to co-beneficiaries Teenage Cancer Trust and Teen Cancer America – directly via the link provided on the YouTube page www.join-together.org

The show will begin on Saturday, Aug. 8 at 1 p.m. EDT/10 a.m. PDT on the Who’s YouTube channel:

Grateful Dead + Dead & Company Streams for Daze Between — Friday 8/7 & Sat. 8/8, YouTube

This weekend brings with it another trip through the vaults of the Grateful Dead and its offshoot, Dead & Company — this time, as part of the ongoing nine-day Daze Between virtual tribute event paying homage to the late Jerry Garcia.

The Grateful Dead Shakedown Stream flashes back to Tinley Park, 1990 on Friday, Aug. 7, beginning with a pre-show featuring Bob Weir:

Before the archival stream itself kicks off  on YouTube at 9 p.m. EDT/6 p.m. PDT:

On Saturday, Aug. 8, Dead & Company’s ongoing One More Saturday Night stream continues with a show from 2020, before the COVID-19 pandemic took hold of our way of life.

The stream will be incorporated into the Daze Between programming schedule, and will go up on YouTube beginning at 6:30 p.m. EDT/3:30 p.m. PDT:

The final day of the Daze Between series is Sunday, Aug. 9, and it will go up on YouTube at 1:30 p.m. EDT/10:30 a.m. PDT with a special look behind the lens of Grateful Dead photographers, storytellers and more:

Don’t forget: The Go-Go’s New Documentary — on Showtime

Premiered last week, The Go-Go’s captures the essence of the groundbreaking punk/new wave band. It’s available to watch via Showtime, and while we’re on the subject — click here to read our new feature interview with singer Belinda Carlisle, guitarists Charlotte Caffey and Jane Wiedlin and bassist Kathy Valentine of the Go-Go’s.


SHARE.


Related Posts