Steve Hackett (Ex-Genesis) Announces New Album 'The Night Siren' — Out in March


Guitar icon Steve Hackett, known for his significant work with Genesis, will release a new solo album on March 24.
Titled The Night Siren, the LP (which features the alluring album artwork seen above) is being billed as “a wake-up call…the warning of a siren sounding in this era of strife and division.”
In Hackett’s efforts to put together a collection of songs representative of the multicultural diversity and unity of the world, the album features several special contributors:
This includes singers from Israel and Palestine, who both actively campaign to bring Jewish and Arabic people together. There are also instrumentals from the USA and Iraq and a multiplicity of sounds, including the exotic strains of Indian sitar and Middle Eastern tar and oud, the ethnic beauty of the Peruvian charango and the haunting Celtic Uilleann pipes.
Said Hackett in the press release, further detailing The Night Siren and its scope:
“This latest waxing represents a bird’s eye view of the world of a musical migrant ignoring borders and celebrating our common ancestry with a unity of spirit, featuring musicians, singers and instruments from all over the world. From territorial frontiers to walled-up gateways, boundaries often hold back the tide. But while the night siren wails, music breaches all defences. To quote Plato, ‘When the music changes, the walls of the city shake’.”
Hackett’s most recent solo album to date is Wolflight, which was released in 2015.
In addition to the album news, Hackett unveiled plans for a “Genesis Revisited with Classic Hackett” UK tour for 2017 that will find him performing the Genesis album Wind and Wuthering as well as select cuts from The Night Siren and the rest of his catalog.
Here’s the track listing for The Night Siren:
1. “Behind the Smoke”
2. “Martian Sea”
3. “Fifty Miles from the North Pole”
4. “El Niño”
5. “Other Side of the Wall”
6. “Anything but Love”
7. “Inca Terra”
8. “In Another Life”
9. “In the Skeleton Gallery”
10. “West to East”
11. “The Gift”
Stay tuned for more about Hackett’s new album and 2017 activities!
Want more from Rock Cellar? Join our community by entering your email address below!


Comments are closed.