Smashing Pumpkins Playing Intimate Venues with ‘Heavier Rock Sets’ on ‘Rock Invasion 2’ Spring Tour

0

Billy Corgan may have recently released a solo album separate from the Smashing Pumpkins name, but he and his esteemed (and reunited) ’90s alt/rock act will head back out on the road this spring, bringing together Corgan, James Iha, Jimmy Chamberlin, Jeff Schroeder and Jack Bates.

The Rock Invasion 2 tour, detailed on Monday, will be a 9-date tour that serves as a sequel of sorts to the Pumpkins’ 1993 tour of the same name. In that vein, it will stop in at more intimate venues than the band has played recently, promising “a heavier rock set of songs spanning the band’s entire catalog,” per a news release.

“It’s been a good while since we’ve played a straight up, bare knuckle rock and roll show; one that avoids little in the way of raw power. So note: this tour won’t be for those faint of heart, and will certainly echo the dynamic modes in which we built our live reputation,” said Corgan in a statement. 

View this post on Instagram

Invading select U.S. cities this spring, The Smashing Pumpkins Rock Invasion 2 Tour! Prepare for an all-out sonic assault. 🎸 Presale starts Tuesday at 10AM ET. Make sure you’re signed up for our email blast to receive the presale password. Link in bio. 04.23 – Louisville, KY @ Louisville Palace 04.25 – Grand Rapids, MI @ 20 Monroe Live 04.26 – Indianapolis, IN @ Murat Theatre at Old National Centre 04.28 – Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium 04.29 – East Moline, IL @ The Rust Belt 05.01 – Memphis, TN @ Beale Street Music Festival 05.02 – Atlanta, GA @ Shaky Knees Festival 05.03 – Hollywood, FL @ Hard Rock Live 05.05 – North Charleston, SC @ Performing Arts Center 05.06 – Columbia, SC @ Township Auditorium 05.08 – Greensboro, NC @ Steven Tanger Center for the Performing Arts

A post shared by The Smashing Pumpkins (@smashingpumpkins) on

The dates:

Thursday, April 23, 2020 Louisville, KY The Louisville Palace presented by Cricket Wireless
Saturday, April 25, 2020 Grand Rapids, MI 20 Monroe Live
Sunday, April 26, 2020 Indianapolis, IN Murat Theatre at Old National Centre
Tuesday, April 28, 2020 Nashville, TN Ryman Auditorium
Wednesday, April 29, 2020* East Moline, IL The Rust Belt
Friday, May 01, 2020* Memphis, TN Beale Street Music Festival
Saturday, May 02, 2020* Atlanta, GA Shaky Knees Music Festival
Sunday, May 03, 2020 Hollywood, FL Hard Rock Live
Tuesday, May 05, 2020 North Charleston, SC North Charleston Performing Arts Center
Wednesday, May 06, 2020 Columbia, SC Township Auditorium
Friday, May 08, 2020 Greensboro, NC Steven Tanger Center for the Performing Arts
*Non-Live Nation event

For more details, visit the Pumpkins’ site.

The Smashing Pumpkins will also support Guns N’ Roses on some of the group’s Not In This Lifetime dates for 2020:

‘Wednesday, July 08, 2020 Philadelphia, PA Citizens Bank Park
Saturday, July 11, 2020 Detroit, MI Comerica Park
Monday, July 13, 2020 Toronto, ON Rogers Centre
Thursday, July 16, 2020 Washington, DC Nationals Park
Saturday, July 18, 2020 East Rutherford, NJ MetLife Stadium
Tuesday, July 21, 2020 Boston, MA Fenway Park

Share.

Comments are closed.