Rolling Stones: ‘Tattoo You’ 40th Anniversary Edition Out 10/22; Stream Unreleased “Living in the Heart of Love”

Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On Oct. 22, The Rolling Stones will revisit 1981’s Tattoo You for a lavish 40th anniversary reissue featuring nine previously unreleased recordings from the album sessions. The legendary English band dropped the news on Thursday, accompanied by one of the unheard tracks — a lively rocker titled “Living in the Heart of Love,” which can be heard below:

The timing of the reissue announcement coincides with the 40th anniversary of the album’s initial release on Aug. 24, 1981.

Click here to pre-order Tattoo You: 40th Anniversary on 2-CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Tattoo You: 40th Anniversary on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Tattoo You: 40th Anniversary on 4-CD Box Set from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Tattoo You: 40th Anniversary on 5-LP Box Set from our Rock Cellar Store

The Stones’ 16th British and 18th American full-length album, Tattoo You featured a number of studio outtakes, most of them dating back to the 1970s — including “Start Me Up,” which would famously become one of the Stones’ most well-known songs over the years.

In terms of bonus material, the Deluxe editions of the release include Lost & Found: Rarities and Still Life: Wembley Stadium 1982. More on that, per a news release:

The Lost & Found disc contains no fewer than nine songs from the period of the album’s original release, newly completed and enhanced with additional vocals and guitar by the band. Among these, “Living In The Heart Of Love” is a quintessential Stones rock workout with all of the group on top form, complete with urgent guitar licks and fine piano detail.

Other highlights of Lost & Found include a killer version of “Shame, Shame, Shame,” first recorded in 1963 by one of the band’s blues heroes, Jimmy Reed; their reading of Dobie Gray’s soul gem “Drift Away;” and a fascinating reggae-tinged version of “Start Me Up.”

Still Life: Wembley Stadium 1982 is an unmissable memento of the band’s London show in June of that year on the Tattoo You tour. The mighty 26-track set is packed with Stones mega-hits, including an opening “Under My Thumb” and all-time greats such as “Let’s Spend The Night Together,” “Honky Tonk Women” and “Brown Sugar.”The Wembley show has covers of the Temptations’ “Just My Imagination,” Eddie Cochran’s “Twenty Flight Rock,” the Miracles’ “Going To A Go Go” and early rock ‘n’ roller the Big Bopper’s “Chantilly Lace.” It also features early live workouts for tracks from the then-new Tattoo You such as “Start Me Up,” “Neighbours,” “Little T&A” and “Hang Fire.”

In related news, the Rolling Stones are set to resume their U.S. No Filter Tour dates on Sept. 26 — without drummer Charlie Watts, who is sitting out due to a medical procedure. Steve Jordan will be behind the drum kit instead.

The dates, barring any further schedule adjustments:

26 – The Dome – ST. LOUIS, MO
30 – Bank of America Stadium – CHARLOTTE, NC


04 – Heinz Field – PITTSBURGH, PA
09 – Nissan Stadium – NASHVILLE, TN
13 – New Orleans Jazz Fest – NEW ORLEANS, LA – NEW
17 – SoFi Stadium – LOS ANGELES, CA – NEW
24 – U.S. Bank Stadium – MINNEAPOLIS, MN
29 – Raymond James Stadium – TAMPA, FL


02 – Cotton Bowl – DALLAS, TX
06 – Allegiant Stadium – LAS VEGAS, NV – NEW
11 – Mercedes-Benz Stadium ATLANTA, GA
15 – Ford Field DETROIT, MI
20 – Circuit of the Americas AUSTIN, TX


Related Posts