Queen Streaming ‘The Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert for AIDS Awareness’ for 48 Hours Beginning Friday 5/15 on YouTube


Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine
SHARE.

Heads up, Queen fans — the band is launching a very special and limited-time opportunity on YouTube this Friday, May 15 when it streams the The Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert for AIDS Awareness for 48 hours as a fundraiser for the World Health Organization’s efforts combating the COVID-19 pandemic.

Announced this week, the 1992 concert paying homage to the iconic and dynamic singer will premiere on Friday at 11 a.m. PST / 2 p.m. EST / 7 p.m. BST on Queen’s YouTube channel:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PN7oGo6qlMA

The show featured an impressive array of special guest musicians toasting Mercury’s life and career:

The Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert for AIDS Awareness took place on Easter Monday, 20th April 1992 at Wembley Stadium in front of a 72,000 sold-out crowd and global broadcast audience of over one billion. The concert was a tribute to Queen’s lead vocalist, Freddie Mercury, who died of AIDS on 24 November 1991. Queen’s remaining members Brian May, Roger Taylor and John Deacon were joined on stage by many of the biggest acts in the world including David Bowie, George Michael, Annie Lennox, Elton John, Guns N’Roses, Robert Plant, Metallica, Liza Minelli, Def Leppard, Seal, Roger Daltrey and many more. The concert was to be the last large scale live event John Deacon performed with Queen.

The profits from the concert were used to launch The Mercury Phoenix Trust. The trust is a core part of Queen and Freddie’s legacy and has gone on to provide in excess of £17m to over 1000 projects in 57 countries in the ongoing fight against AIDS worldwide.

https://www.mercuryphoenixtrust.com

Here’s a full trailer for the concert, which took place just five months after the passing of Freddie Mercury:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ro-ZSNT6DM8


SHARE.


Related Posts