Paul Weller & His Band Hosting ‘Mid-Sömmer Musik,’ an Hour-Long Streaming Concert Event 11/12


Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine
SHARE.

This Thursday, Nov. 12, Paul Weller and his band will present Mid-Sömmer Musik, a special hour-long live stream concert event available globally to fans of “The Modfather” and his shape-shifting musical career.

The program is being billed as a 60-minute special featuring performances of brand new never-before-heard songs, full band versions of tracks from ‘On Sunset’ & ‘True Meanings’, plus spoken interludes from Paul.

Here’s a trailer:

Back in July, Weller released his latest album, On Sunset (click here to read Jeff Slate’s feature chat with Weller about the record), but the COVID-19 pandemic prevented Weller and his band from properly touring in support of the record. Part of that inability to get out on the road inspired this live stream event. Via the show’s official site:

The show has given Paul a chance to perform tracks from his latest record ‘On Sunset’ live with the band – “I wanted to play the new stuff because I’m so into it, it’s so sad we couldn’t play anything from On Sunset this year, I was really looking forward to playing that live”. You can also expect the debut of brand new music – never heard before and exclusive to this stream – plus tracks from ‘True Meanings’ & spoken interludes from Paul – reflecting on the importance of live music & his creative process.

The performances were recorded during the summer, at the peak of the heatwave, and the first time the full band had been together in nearly 6 months – including Steve Cradock, Andy Crofts, Steve Pilgrim, Ben Gordelier and Tom Van Heel.

Given the global makeup of Paul Weller’s audience, the show will available in three broadcasts:

Broadcast #1
Ireland, UK & Europe (November 12th 8pm GMT)

Broadcast #2
East/Westcoast America (November 12th 10pm ET / 7pm PT)

Broadcast #3
Australia, New Zealand & Asia (Please note this stream is a different date to Broadcast #1 and #2 due to time difference: November 13th 8pm AEDT, 10pm NZDT & 6pm JST)

Tickets to access the live stream are available here. 


SHARE.


Related Posts