Out Now: Motörhead Unleashes 40th Anniversary Edition of 1981’s ‘No Sleep‘ til Hammersmith’ (Listen)

Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Today, June 25, Motörhead has released a special 40th anniversary edition of No Sleep ’til Hammersmith, an expanded edition of a live album capturing the blistering magic of a gig from Lemmy Kilmister and the guys at Newcastle City Hall on March 30, 1981.

The original live album was a massive hit for the band. Per a news release:

Upon that original June 27th ’81 release, Lemmy is quoted as saying of No Sleep ‘Til Hammersmith after it crashed into number one in the UK charts, “I knew it’d be the live one that went best, because we’re really a live band. You can’t listen to a record and find out what we’re about. You’ve got to see us.” No Sleep ‘Til Hammersmith was MOTÖRHEAD’s first and only number one record in the UK and is still the most necessary live album of all time.

The new No Sleep ’til Hammersmith reissue is available in a variety of formats, including a 4-CD Box set featuring a bevy of bonus material:

  • The No Sleep ‘Til Hammersmith album, remastered from the original master tapes, featuring extra bonus tracks and newly unearthed, previously unreleased sound check recordings.
  • The three full recordings of the concerts that made up No Sleep, never before released in their entirety.
  • The story of No Sleep ‘Til Hammersmith told through previously unpublished and new interviews with the people that were on the road at the time.
  • Never before seen photos and rare memorabilia.
  • Double sided, A3 concert posters from 1981.
  • Reproduction USA ’81 tour pass.
  • MOTÖRHEAD ‘England’ plectrum.
  • 1981 European tour badge.
  • Reproduction Newcastle City Hall ticket.
  • Port Vale gig flyer post card.

Click here to pick up No Sleep ’til Hammersmith on 2-CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pick up No Sleep ’til Hammersmith on 3-LP from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pick up No Sleep ’til Hammersmith on 4-CD Box Set from our Rock Cellar Store

Stream the 40th anniversary reissue below:


Related Posts