Watch Madness Perform “Our House” on ‘Jimmy Kimmel Live’ (‘The Very Best of Madness’ LP Out Now)

Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Back in March, English ska legends Madness released Our House: The Very Best of Madness, a collection of some of the ensemble’s most important songs that helped make the group an integral part of U.K. ska revival of the 1970s and ’80s.

The album draws its title, of course, from the song “Our House,” the band’s 1982 single that registered as its biggest hit, charting within the Top 10 in multiple countries.

To help promote the best-of record, Madness performed the song from the London Palladium for a segment that aired on Jimmy Kimmel Live! on Tuesday evening:

Click here to pick up Our House: The Very Best of Madness on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pick up Our House: The Very Best of Madness on CD from our Rock Cellar Store

The track listing for Our House: The Very Best of Madness:

1. Our House
2. It Must Be Love
3. House of Fun
4. Baggy Trousers
5. Embarrassment
6. NW5
7. One Step Beyond
8. The Prince
9. Wings of a Dove 1
10. Mr. Apples 1
11. Bullingdon Boys 1
12. Night Boat to Cairo

The band also has a live stream event coming up this Friday, May 14:

And some contextual background for the group’s place in music history:

Madness was one of the leading bands of the UK ska revival of the late ’70s and early ’80s. As their career progressed, Madness branched away from their trademark “nutty sound” and incorporated large elements of Motown, soul, and British pop; their songwriting becoming ever-more nuanced and sophisticated. Although the band enjoyed one crossover American hit with “Our House” in 1983, they remained a British phenomenon, but their influence on several successive generations of international musicians looms large. Madness remain one of the UK’s most beloved groups; a national treasure with a plethora of smash hit singles under their belt. This new U.S.-only career spanning collection brings you twelve of their very best songs including “Night Boat To Cairo,” “Our House” and “It Must Be Love,” plus their most recent single, “Bullingdon Boys.”


Related Posts