Preview the Reissue of Linda McCartney’s Posthumous 1998 Album ‘Wide Prairie,’ Due Out 8/2

Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

This Friday, August 2, will bring with it the reissue of Wide Prairie, a posthumous 1998 compilation album of songs from Sir Paul McCartney‘s beloved wife Linda McCartney, who passed away in April of that year.

Wide Prairie is the only studio album recorded and released under Linda McCartney’s name, and features recordings from the early 1970s up through part of the 1990s. Here’s the title track’s remastered version as a preview of the reissue:

Via the news release about the reissue:

 Wide Prairie features Linda on vocals and various instruments on songs she wrote or co-composed and recorded with Wings between 1972 and 1980, the single-only ‘Seaside Woman’/‘B-Side to Seaside’ released under the pseudonym of Suzy and the Red Stripes, cover versions of classics by the McGuire Sisters, The Coasters and more, and solo work from the ‘80s and ‘90s including her final recording, ‘The Light Comes from Within’ (co-authored by and featuring Paul McCartney, as well as their son James on electric and acoustic guitar). 

The album was recorded in various locations including Jamaica, Paris, Nashville and Sussex with contributors including husband Paul; son James; Wings members Denny Laine, Denny Seiwell, Henry McCullough, Jimmy McCulloch, Joe English and Laurence Juber; writer Carla Lane who also co-wrote ’The White Coated Man’ and ‘Cow’; Lee “Scratch” Perry and members of the Black Ark studio band Boris Gardiner, Winston Writer and Mikey Boo. 

And the track listing:

1. “Wide Prairie”
2. “New Orleans”
3. “The White Coated Man” (Linda McCartney, Paul McCartney, Carla Lane)
4. “Love’s Full Glory”
5. “I Got Up” (L. McCartney, P. McCartney)
6. “The Light Comes from Within” (L. McCartney, P. McCartney)
7. “Mister Sandman” (Pat Ballard)
8. “Seaside Woman”
9. “Oriental Nightfish”
10. “Endless Days” (L. McCartney, Mick Bolton)
11. “Poison Ivy” (Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller)
12. “Cow” (L. McCartney, P. McCartney, Lane)
13. “B-side to Seaside” (L. McCartney, P. McCartney)
14. “Sugartime” (Charlie Phillips, Odis Echols)
15. “Cook of the House” (L. McCartney, P. McCartney)
16. “Appaloosa” (L. McCartney, P. McCartney)


Related Posts