Out Now: Larkin Poe ‘Kindred Spirits,’ Inspired Covers of Elton John, Lenny Kravitz, Post Malone, Phil Collins & More (Listen)


Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine
SHARE.

On Friday, Larkin Poe — the acclaimed roots/folk duo comprised of sisters Rebecca and Megan Lovell — release Kindred Spirits, an album of cover songs specially selected by the pair.

It’s far more than your typical “covers album,” though. Throughout, Larkin Poe reimagine the songs, some of them all-time classics, others more current, injecting their own musical sensibilities to the proceedings. Take their rendition of “Take What You Want,” the smash-hit 2019 single from rapper Post Malone and Ozzy Osbourne:

Said Larkin Poe on their decision to reimagine this all-star collaboration:

“Considering the nature of this record, it should come as no surprise that we applaud Post Malone for shouting out the legendary Ozzy Osbourne with a feature on his hit ‘Take What You Want.’ This song vibrates with a classic Ozzy energy and from the moment we first heard it, we were dying to make our own stripped back, rootsy remix.”

Kindred Spirits also finds Larkin Poe tackling songs made famous by Lenny Kravitz (“Fly Away”), Neil Young (“Rockin’ in the Free World”), Phil Collins (“In the Air Tonight”), Elvis Presley (“(You’re The) Devil in Disguise),” the Allman Brothers Band (“Ramblin’ Man”), the Moody Blues (“Knights in White Satin”), and Elton John (“Crocodile Rock”), among others, all of which feature the duo’s imaginative, Southern-inspired makeovers.

As a whole, this project is really the top-tier when it comes to the concept of a collection of covers. So many just find the artist recording the original song in a straightforward, sometimes uninspired, fashion — but this is the real deal, and it shows that Larkin Poe definitely put in the time and effort to make it count.

Per a news release, Larkin Poe will host a series of online events this weekend geared around the release of Kindred Spirits:

Nov 20th at 1:00pm CT / 7:00pm UK: Facebook Hang
Nov 20th at 1:30pm CT / 7:30pm UK: Instagram Q&A
Nov 21st at 2:00pm CT / 8:00pm UK: YouTube Performance Party
Nov 22nd at 12:30pm CT / 6:30pm UK : Twitch Listening Party

Here’s the album’s full track listing:

01. Hellhound On My Trail (Robert Johnson)
02. Fly Away (Lenny Kravitz)
03. Rockin’ In The Free World (Neil Young)
04. (You’re The) Devil In Disguise (Elvis Presley)
05. In The Air Tonight (Phil Collins)
06. Nights In White Satin (The Moody Blues)
07. Who Do You Love (Bo Diddley)
08. Take What You Want (Post Malone)
09. Ramblin’ Man (The Allman Brothers)
10. Bell Bottom Blues (Derek & The Dominoes)
11. Crocodile Rock (Elton John)

Stream it below, via Spotify:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


SHARE.


Related Posts