Kansas Premieres ‘Jets Overhead’; New Album ‘The Absence of Presence’ Out 6/26

Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

The Absence of Presence, the new studio album from prog-rock masters Kansas, will be released on June 26 — and a few days back, the band premiered a trippy new visualizer/video for a song called “Jets Overhead”:

Said guitairst Zak Rizvi, who wrote the song’s music: “’Jets Overhead’ has become one of my favorite songs on the album. Tom Brislin wrote some fantastic lyrics, David Ragsdale’s violin solo is absolutely smoking and Ronnie Platt nailed the vocals.”

That powerful song is the latest released in the build-up to the new album, following the nostalgic “Memories Down the Line”:

There’s also the aggressive “Throwing Mountains,” which was premiered earlier:

Some words about the song, from band members in a news release:

“‘Throwing Mountains’ might be one of the heaviest songs KANSAS has ever recorded,” comments KANSAS guitarist Zak Rizvi, “At over six minutes long, I like to consider it a bit of a KANSAS mini-epic.” Rizvi wrote the music for the song with lyrics by KANSAS keyboardist Tom Brislin and drummer Phil Ehart.

Here’s the track listing for the record:

1.) The Absence of Presence
2.) Throwing Mountains
3.) Jets Overhead
4.) Propulsion 1
5.) Memories Down the Line
6.) Circus of Illusion
7.) Animals on the Roof
8.) Never
9.) The Song the River Sang


Related Posts