Judy Collins is Putting Together a ‘Global Virtual Choir’ to Create a New Version of ‘Amazing Grace’ and You Can Join (Deadline Friday 5/22)

0

Legendary singer/songwriter Judy Collins has a special opportunity for everybody, designed with the spirit of community amid the COVID-19 pandemic in mind.

It all has to do with her rendition of “Amazing Grace,” a revered version of the traditional song that has popped up recently as a beacon of hope and warmth in these frightening times.

Collins is putting together a Global Virtual Choir via online submissions from anybody who’s willing and able, the end result being a new recording of “Amazing Grace” that will benefit the World Health Organization’s Solidarity Response Fund.

The charity song and corresponding music video will premiere on Friday, May 29, and you have until Friday, May 22 at 9 a.m. BST/4 a.m. ET/1 a.m. PT to submit your entry. Click here for additional details. 

The song can already be pre-ordered on iTunes, so you might as well go ahead and do that now if you’re interested. 

Said Judy Collins recently regarding her version of “Amazing Grace”:

“I recorded Amazing Grace with a group of friends at Saint Paul’s Chapel on the Columbia University campus in New York City. When my recording of Amazing Grace was released in the UK it went to number one on the music charts and then became enormously popular all over the world. It was written by John Newton in 1772, a man who evolved from slave ship captain to a writer of powerful hymns, and changed his entire life, becoming a model for spiritual transformation.

That’s what we need today once again. Stay safe, help others and pray for the planet. I am sending this song out to all the doctors, nurses and patients. We will survive this with love and music and amazing grace.”

While on the topic, click here to watch our RockCellarTV interview with Judy from a couple years back:

Share.

Leave A Reply