Coming on 6/11: ‘Picture Show: A Tribute Celebrating John Prine,’ Streaming on Facebook, YouTube and More


Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine
SHARE.

On June 11, the incredible life and career of John Prine will be commemorated with a special online event broadcast across his Facebook and YouTube pages, among other platforms.

Announced on Thursday, the program will be a toast to the late country music pioneer, who passed away at age 73 in early April after a battle with the coronavirus.

https://www.instagram.com/p/CAdem78Bx6Z/

Details on Picture Show, with more information to be announced in the coming days:

—“Picture Show: A Tribute Celebrating John Prine” will premiere June 11 at 7:30pm ET/6:30pm CT/4:30pm PT across multiple platforms including Prine’s YouTube and Facebook channels. 

Produced by the Prine family and Oh Boy Records, the tribute will feature family and friends sharing memories and songs while raising money for several charitable organizations including NAMI (the National Alliance on Mental Illness) and Alive, whose Grief Center is providing free counseling sessions to anyone in Middle Tennessee who has had a family member die of COVID-19.  

An undeniable icon of the country/folk genres, John Prine cast a massive influence on legions of musicians who followed in his wake. ZZ Top’s Billy F Gibbons summed up Prine’s legacy in a thoughtful statement in remembrance:

“We were saddened to learn of John Prine’s passing, the loss of a true American treasure. He was admired both for his art and for his sheer humanity.  He had a nobility that radiated liked a million watt radio station just across the border. We last crossed paths at the Memphis Music Hall of Fame ceremony where he inducted Cowboy Jack Clement and we got to do the honors for Roy Orbison.  We greeted each other warmly and I vividly recall passing a most pleasant time with the genuine article.  Never to be forgotten.”  – Billy F Gibbons


SHARE.


Related Posts