(Updated 8/6): Celebrate Jerry Garcia with ‘Daze Between,’ a Nine-Day Live Stream Event/Fundraiser Paying Tribute to the Grateful Dead Legend — Launched on Garcia’s Birthday, 8/1


Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine
SHARE.

Jerry Garcia will be the focus of Daze Between, a special nine-day marathon of online programming scheduled to begin on Saturday, Aug. 1 — Garcia’s birthday.

The Grateful Dead legend may have passed away in 1995, but there’s no disputing that his legacy lives on and has only grown bigger in the years since.

Daze Between will incorporate exclusive live stream performances, “storytelling,” a live auction and more, all benefiting the Rex Foundation, a non-profit started by the Dead and their families in 1983.

Obviously, the programming will include archival performances from the Grateful Dead and off-shot projects such as Dead and Company and Bob Weir & the Campfire Band among other acts. Most of the streams will be available on Nugs.net, YouTube and Facebook Live.

The full daily schedule of events is rather overwhelming, to be honest, and is available at the official Daze Between website.

The programming for Monday, Aug. 3 will go up on YouTube at 6 p.m. EDT/3 p.m. PDT:

Here’s the Aug. 4 programming, which began streaming on YouTube at 5 p.m. EDT/2 p.m. PDT:

Aug. 5’s programming can be seen below:

Aug. 6’s programming:

The full slate of programming, via Instagram:

Here are more details regarding Daze Between, via JamBase:

Daze Between will feature past performances from the Grateful Dead, Dead & Company, Bob Weir & The Campfire Band and more. The event will also include an online auction of Grateful Dead memorabilia including a guitar autographed by Bob Weir, copies of Jay Blakesberg’s books of photography, a complete set of Jerry Garcia-inspired posters from Chuck Sperry and more, along with a screening of the 2012 concert film Move Me Brightly which celebrated Jerry Garcia’s 70th birthday.

For more on the legacy of Jerry Garcia, click here to read an archival piece in which fellow San Francisco music icons (Marty Balin, Peter Albin, David Freiberg and David Nelson) recalled their first encounters with Garcia:

San Francisco Musicians (Marty Balin, Peter Albin, David Freiberg and David Nelson) Recall Their First Encounters with Jerry Garcia


SHARE.


Related Posts