Hear Iggy Pop’s ‘James Bond,’ from His ‘Contemplative’ New Album ‘Free’


Iggy Pop already promised something fresh and unexpected with his new album, Free, and he’s since delivered on that with two songs from the record, which will be released on September 6.

On Tuesday, he premiered a track titled “James Bond”:

According to the news release, this one, led by a plodding bass line, tells a story:

“I don’t know what she’s up to exactly, but the tables seem to be turning, and she’s taking over. Well, why not? I’ll try anything once.”

“I’ve never had more fun singing a lyric. Faith’s reading is so loaded, and Leron’s production and trumpet along with the band swings like crazy.”

It’s a very different feel from the title track, a spoken-word composition that opens the album:

The rest of Free is said to have very little in common with anything else Iggy Pop has done in his career, which is saying a lot given the twists and turns he’s had through the years.

“This is an album in which other artists speak for me, but I lend my voice…

By the end of the tours following Post Pop Depression, I felt sure that I had rid myself of the problem of chronic insecurity that had dogged my life and career for too long.

But I also felt drained. And I felt like I wanted to put on shades, turn my back, and walk away. I wanted to be free. I know that’s an illusion, and that freedom is only something you feel, but I have lived my life thus far in the belief that that feeling is all that is worth pursuing; all that you need – not happiness or love necessarily, but the feeling of being free.

So this album just kind of happened to me, and I let it happen.”

Here’s the track listing:

1. “Free”
2.”Loves Missing”
3. “Sonali”
4. “James Bond”
5. “Dirty Sanchez”
6. “Glow In The Dark”
7. “Page”
8. “We Are The People”
9. “Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night”
10. “The Dawn”


Comments are closed.