Check out our Youtube Channel

Video interviews with all your favorite stars!

Download all your music here

Watch Iggy Pop’s Straightforward New Video for ‘James Bond’


Iggy Pop recently premiered a song titled “James Bond” as a preview of his upcoming album, Free, slated for release on September 6. The song, which is almost exclusively set to a plodding bass rhythm and Pop’s repeated refrains of “She wants to be your James Bond” is impossible to get out of your head due to its simplicity.

An official music video for the song was premiered on Wednesday, and it matches the song’s overall straightforward approach. In it, the classic punk icon talk-sings and smiles into the camera as various visual effects flash between him and Faith Vern, who provides the backing vocals on the track. As does Leron Thomas, whose blistering trumpet solo is one of the song’s most energetic moments.

Said Iggy Pop of the song:

“I don’t know what she’s up to exactly, but the tables seem to be turning, and she’s taking over. Well, why not? I’ll try anything once.”

“I’ve never had more fun singing a lyric. Faith’s reading is so loaded, and Leron’s production and trumpet along with the band swings like crazy.”

The rest of Free is said to have very little in common with anything else Iggy Pop has done in his career, which is saying a lot given the twists and turns he’s had through the years.

“This is an album in which other artists speak for me, but I lend my voice…

By the end of the tours following Post Pop Depression, I felt sure that I had rid myself of the problem of chronic insecurity that had dogged my life and career for too long.

But I also felt drained. And I felt like I wanted to put on shades, turn my back, and walk away. I wanted to be free. I know that’s an illusion, and that freedom is only something you feel, but I have lived my life thus far in the belief that that feeling is all that is worth pursuing; all that you need – not happiness or love necessarily, but the feeling of being free.

So this album just kind of happened to me, and I let it happen.”

Here’s the track listing:

1. “Free”
2.”Loves Missing”
3. “Sonali”
4. “James Bond”
5. “Dirty Sanchez”
6. “Glow In The Dark”
7. “Page”
8. “We Are The People”
9. “Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night”
10. “The Dawn”


Comments are closed.