Guns N’ Roses Unleash Aggressive Studio Version of “Absurd,” Band’s First New Song in 13 Years


Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine
SHARE.

Earlier this week, Axl Rose, Slash and Guns N’ Roses played a new song, “Absurd,” live at Fenway Park. A reworked version of a long-existing demo song titled “Silkworms,” the song’s studio version popped up on streaming platforms late Thursday/early Friday.

It serves as the first new studio recording from GnR since the 2008 Chinese Democracy album. Featuring some truly wild vocals from Rose, the studio version is quite confrontational and aggressive, and is definitely an intriguing first bit of new music after a long time away:

In case you missed some of Rose’s lyrics, here’s the first verse:

Listen motherfuckers to the song that should be heard
Back down in the gutter is more than you deserve
Screaming fucking banshee, you know that’s what you are
Pussy full of maggots, isn’t that absurd
Dizzy little dreamer with your head down in the stars
Fucking little schemer lost yourself inside the art
Syphilitic priestess baby, I know who you are
Parasitic demon sucking acid through your heart

Personnel-wise, the credits for the track read as follows:

Produced by W. Axl Rose N’ Caram Costanzo
Recorded and Mixed by Caram Costanzo
Brain Mantia – Drums

It’s unclear based on the credits above whether Slash and Duff McKagan, who have been touring with Rose as part of the Guns N’ Roses “classic lineup” performances over the past few years, were involved in the studio version, though they did partake in the live performance earlier this week:

The Fenway Park show came as part of the new, rescheduled tour dates Guns N’ Roses announced back in early June, with special guest Mammoth WVH along for the ride in most cities.

The schedule, barring any future changes:

^ Festival Date/Mammoth WVH Not Performing

Sun Aug 08 – Detroit, MI – Comerica Park
Wed Aug 11 – Fargo, ND – FargoDome
Fri Aug 13 – Missoula, MT – Washington-Grizzly Stadium
Mon Aug 16 – Commerce City, CO – DICK’S Sporting Goods Park
Thu Aug 19 – Los Angeles, CA – Banc of California Stadium
Sun Aug 22 – Portland, OR – Moda Center*
Wed Aug 25 – San Jose, CA – SAP Center at San Jose*
Fri Aug 27 – Las Vegas, NV – Venue to be announced*
Mon Aug 30 – Phoenix, AZ – Phoenix Suns Arena*
Wed Sep 01 – Dallas, TX – American Airlines Center*
Sat Sep 04 – Napa, CA – BottleRock Napa Valley^
Wed Sep 08 – Indianapolis, IN – Lucas Oil Stadium
Sat Sep 11 – Atlantic City, NJ – Hard Rock Live at Etess Arena*
Sun Sep 12 – Atlantic City, NJ – Hard Rock Live at Etess Arena*
Thu Sep 16 – Chicago, IL – Wrigley Field
Sat Sep 18 – Milwaukee, WI – American Family Insurance Amphitheater | Summerfest
Tue Sep 21 – St. Paul, MN – Xcel Energy Center*
Thu Sep 23 – Columbus, OH – Schottenstein Center*
Sun Sep 26 – Baltimore, MD – Royal Farms Arena*
Wed Sep 29 – Raleigh, NC – PNC Arena*
Sat Oct 02 – Hollywood, FL – Hard Rock Live Arena*
Sun Oct 03 – Hollywood, FL – Hard Rock Live Arena*

This news comes after Guns N’ Roses also announced the rescheduling of a planned Summer 2021 European tour to Summer ’22.

Who knows what’s next from one of rock and roll’s most infamous band? Stay tuned!


SHARE.


Related Posts