Check out our Youtube Channel

Video interviews with all your favorite stars!

Download all your music here

Green Day Donating Royalties of New Song ‘Oh Yeah!,’ Which Samples Joan Jett’s Cover of Gary Glitter’s ‘Do You Wanna Touch Me’

0

Late last week, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame punk/alternative band Green Day premiered a new single, “Oh Yeah!,” as a preview from its anticipated new album Father of All Motherfuckers, which will be released on February 7.

The song features a sample of Joan Jett‘s “Do You Wanna Touch Me (Oh Yeah)” as its refrain, and the music video — starring band members Billie Joe Armstrong, Mike Dirnt and Tre Cool — can be seen below.

Of course, Jett’s “Do You Wanna Touch Me” is a cover of a song by Gary Glitter, known and convicted pedophile.

Realizing this, Green Day will donate their royalties from “Oh Yeah!” to the International Justice Mission and the Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network, as revealed by the band on Twitter:

That’s an admirable way to skirt any negative attention that might have come to the band as a result of the Glitter association. It’s the second high-profile example of Glitter’s music being at the forefront of a bit of controversy, as Todd Phillips’ 2019 movie Jokerup for 11 Oscars this year — used “Rock and Roll Part 2” in one of its standout scenes.

However, it was revealed that Glitter would not receive royalties for the song’s use in the film.

Back to Green Day — “Oh Yeah” is the third single released from the album so far, joining pre-release tracks “Father of All … “:

And “Fire, Ready Aim”:

Catch Green Day on the Hella Mega Tour this summer, where they’ll share the stage with Fall Out Boy and Weezer across the world:

 DATE CITY VENUE
Saturday, June 13 PARIS, FRANCE La Defense Arena
Sunday, June 14 GRONINGEN, NETHERLANDS Stadspark
Wednesday, June 17 ANTWERP, BELGIUM Sportpaleis
Sunday, June 21 VIENNA, AUSTRIA Ernst Happel Stadium
Wednesday, June 24 GLASGOW, SCOTLAND Bellahouston Park
Friday, June 26 LONDON, ENGLAND London Stadium
Saturday, June 27 HUDDERSFIELD, ENGLAND The John Smith’s Stadium
Monday, June 29 DUBLIN, IRELAND RDS Arena

 

 

THE HELLA MEGA TOUR North American Dates:

 DATE CITY VENUE
Friday, July 17 SEATTLE, WA T-Mobile Park
Tuesday, July 21 SAN FRANCISCO, CA Oracle Park
Friday, July 24 SAN DIEGO, CA Petco Park
Saturday, July 25 LOS ANGELES, CA Dodger Stadium
Tuesday, July 28 COMMERCE CITY, CO DICK’S Sporting Goods Park
Friday, July 31 ARLINGTON, TX GLOBE LIFE FIELD
Saturday, August 1 HOUSTON, TX Minute Maid Park
Wednesday, August 5 MIAMI, FL Hard Rock Stadium
Thursday, August 6 JACKSONVILLE, FL TIAA Bank Field
Saturday, August 8 ATLANTA, GA SunTrust Park
Tuesday, August 11 MINNEAPOLIS, MN Target Field
Thursday, August 13 CHICAGO, IL Wrigley Field
Saturday, August 15 PITTSBURGH, PA PNC Park
Sunday, August 16 HERSHEY, PA Hersheypark Stadium
Wednesday, August 19 DETROIT, MI Comerica Park
Friday, August 21 WASHINGTON, DC Nationals Park
Saturday, August 22 NEW YORK, NY Citi Field
Monday, August 24 TORONTO, ON Rogers Centre
Thursday, August 27 BOSTON, MA Fenway Park
Saturday, August 29 PHILADELPHIA, PA Citizens Bank Park

Share.

Comments are closed.