Watch a Green Day Fan Play “Basket Case” with an Impressed Billie Joe Armstrong on the Hella Mega Tour


Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine
SHARE.

For years, Green Day has proven to be one of the most entertaining live acts around. Whether playing a packed intimate venue full of diehard fans or a huge outdoor stadium, Billie Joe Armstrong and the Bay Area punk/rockers put together as enjoyable a live experience as any band. Armstrong commanding the stage with authority.

One of the most memorable parts of these gigs is when Armstrong, bassist Mike Dirnt and drummer Tre Cool go into a cover of Operation Ivy’s “Knowledge.” Typically, Armstrong invites a fan from the crowd to join the band on stage, where he or she is given a guitar and expected to play along with the song. Sometimes, it’s great — the fan clearly knows how to play guitar and handles the job well. Other times, it’s obvious the fan doesn’t, and was just excited to get up on stage alongside the band for a few precious minutes.

This week, Green Day, Fall Out Boy and Weezer started the Hella Mega Tour, the anticipated triple-bill tour that was first postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic back in 2020. A few shows have gone down thus far, and in Tuesday night’s gig in Atlanta, a fan named Clay was picked to jump on stage and play “Knowledge.”

Kudos to Clay for knowing his stuff, because this was likely one of the more impressive instances of this fan participation aspect of a Green Day show that’s ever happened. Not only did he seamlessly play “Knowledge,” but Armstrong was so impressed with his skills he asked him to stay on stage and play “Basket Case,” one of the band’s biggest 1990s-era hits.

Obviously, Clay knew how to play the tune:

This doesn’t usually happen like this during this part of Green Day gigs, so this was a real treat.

Expect more of this in the coming weeks as the Hella Mega tour rolls along — but maybe don’t expect the fan guitarists to be THIS good. Clay’s on his own level.

The remaining dates on the U.S. leg of the tour:

Thursday, July 29 HOUSTON, TX Minute Maid Park
Saturday, July 31 JACKSONVILLE, FL TIAA Bank Field
Sunday, August 1 MIAMI, FL Hard Rock Stadium
Wednesday, August 4 FLUSHING, NY Citi Field
Thursday, August 5 BOSTON, MA Fenway Park
Sunday, August 8 WASHINGTON, DC Nationals Park
Tuesday, August 10 DETROIT, MI Comerica Park
Friday, August 13 HERSHEY, PA Hersheypark Stadium
Sunday, August 15 CHICAGO, IL Wrigley Field
Tuesday, August 17 COLUMBUS, OH Historic Crew Stadium
Thursday, August 19 PITTSBURGH, PA PNC Park
Friday, August 20 PHILADELPHIA, PA Citizen’s Bank Park
Monday, August 23 MINNEAPOLIS, MN Target Field
Wednesday, August 25 DENVER, CO Dick’s Sporting Goods Park
Friday, August 27 SAN FRANCISCO, CA Oracle park
Sunday, August 29 SAN DIEGO, CA PetCo Park
Wednesday, September 1 MILWAUKEE, WI Summerfest
Friday, September 3 LOS ANGELES, CA Dodger Stadium
Monday, September 6 SEATTLE, WA T Mobile Park


SHARE.


Related Posts