Grateful Dead ‘Shakedown Stream’: Watch ‘Egypt 1978 + the Vacation Tapes’ on YouTube Friday 7/31 (and Pre-Show with Mickey Hart)


Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine
SHARE.

This Friday night, July 31, the Grateful Dead will stream another installment of the ongoing Shakedown Stream, a weekly series of archival uploads shared on YouTube.

(Click here to browse and purchase Grateful Dead music from our Rock Cellar Store).

This week’s programming, per the YouTube description:

This week on the SHAKEDOWN STREAM, we’re rocking the crypt with Egypt 1978 + THE VACATION TAPES, a 15-minute 8mm silent film of the Dead, their crew, and their family traveling around the ancient pyramids.⁣ We’re raising funds in support of HeadCount this week, a non-partisan organization that uses the power of music to register voters and promote participation in democracy. Look for the blue donate button during the streams and give it a click to contribute if you can.⁣

The pre-show, featuring special guest Mickey Hart, will go live at 8 p.m. EDT/5 p.m. PDT on the Dead’s YouTube channel:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kKQpN_HKnPM

With the show itself going up an hour later, at 9 p.m. EDT/6 p.m. PDT:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-qj4Vcp69V4

As has been the case for most weeks of the COVID-19 pandemic, the legendary jam band doesn’t let a weekend pass by without offering up some treasures from the vault, a great way to keep fans entertained at home during these strange times.

This new pair of Grateful Dead-related streaming events comes at a particularly busy time for the band, which released the 50th anniversary edition of Workingman’s Dead last week (click here for more on that) and unveiled a new collaboration with Nike for some special (and quite colorful) sneakers.


SHARE.


Related Posts