Grateful Dead Weekend Viewing: Shakedown Stream ‘Tinley Park 1990’ Friday 8/7; Dead & Company ‘The Sand 2020’ Sat. 8/8 — Part of ‘Daze Between’ Jerry Garcia Tribute


Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine
SHARE.

This weekend brings with it another trip through the vaults of the Grateful Dead and its offshoot, Dead & Company — this time, as part of the ongoing nine-day Daze Between virtual tribute event paying homage to the late Jerry Garcia.

(Click here to shop Grateful Dead in our Rock Cellar Store).

The series of programming kicked off on Aug. 1, Garcia’s birthday, and runs through this weekend. Each day since its launch has been filled with archival live sets and material from in and around the Dead‘s musical universe, all benefiting the Rex Foundation, a non-profit started by the Dead and their families in 1983.

Friday night, Aug. 7, the Grateful Dead Shakedown Stream series will continue with Tinley Park IL 1990, which begins with a pre-show featuring Bob Weir:

The archival stream itself will begin on YouTube at 9 p.m. EDT/6 p.m. PDT:

On Saturday, Aug. 8, Dead & Company’s ongoing One More Saturday Night stream continues with a show from 2020, before the COVID-19 pandemic took hold of our way of life.

View this post on Instagram

One More Saturday Night returns this weekend to celebrate the #DazeBetween and bring us all back to the beach! Tune in on August 8th @ 8pm ET/5pm PT to catch Sunday’s sunset show from this year’s @playinginthesand and relive our trip to Mexico. 🌴🐚☀️🏖 💀⚡️ Thank you to our friends at @reverb_org for all their hard work in reducing our environmental footprint and increasing our positive impact while we danced seaside to the songs that fuel and inspire us. Special thanks to our partners at @cidpresentsofficial who’ve made a donation to Cruz Roja Quintana Roo who, in addition to providing free and affordable emergency and wellness services, recently opened Mexico's first Red Cross University in Cancún. Their important work keeping communities on the Yucatan Peninsula safe and healthy is funded 100% by private donations. Read more about their work or make a donation via link in stories!

A post shared by Dead & Company (@deadandcompany) on

The stream will be incorporated into the Daze Between programming schedule, and will go up on YouTube beginning at 6:30 p.m. EDT/3:30 p.m. PDT:

The final day of the Daze Between series is Sunday, Aug. 9, and it will go up on YouTube at 1:30 p.m. EDT/10:30 a.m. PDT with a special look behind the lens of Grateful Dead photographers, storytellers and more:

For more on the legacy of Jerry Garcia, click here to read an archival piece in which fellow San Francisco music icons (Marty Balin, Peter Albin, David Freiberg and David Nelson) recalled their first encounters with Garcia.


SHARE.


Related Posts