Eagles Relaunch ‘Hotel California’ Tour at Madison Square Garden, with Dedications to Don Everly and Charlie Watts


Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine
SHARE.

After a delay caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, Eagles relaunched their anticipated Hotel California tour this week — Tuesday night, to be exact, with a show at Madison Square Garden in New York City that had been delayed from a few days earlier due to Hurricane Henri. The gig marked the first public show from the legendary band since March 7, 2020, a few days before the pandemic took hold.

As expected with the Hotel California tour, Eagles (Don Henley, Joe Walsh and Timothy B. Schmit, with Deacon Frey and Vince Gill) performed the iconic 1976 record in its entirety for the first set of the evening, before a second set billed as “Every Other Song We Know,” a selection of classics from throughout the band’s career as well as tracks credited to Joe Walsh and his work with James Gang, Don Henley’s solo career (“Boys of Summer”) and two beloved Jack Tempchin compositions, “Peaceful Easy Feeling” and “Already Gone,” staples of the Eagles live set over the years.

There were also tributes to Rolling Stones drummer Charlie Watts, who passed away on Tuesday at the age of 80, with Walsh’s “Life’s Been Good” dedicated in his memory. The night-capping “Best of My Love,” meanwhile, was dedicated to both Watts and Don Everly of the Everly Brothers, who passed away over the weekend.

Here’s a fan-shot video of Eagles performing “The Long Run,” the penultimate song in the set list, per Setlist.fm:

And the set list from the night:

Set 1: Hotel California

Hotel California
New Kid in Town
Life in the Fast Lane
Wasted Time
Wasted Time (Reprise)
Victim of Love
Pretty Maids All in a Row
Try and Love Again
The Last Resort

Set 2: “Every Other Song We Know”

Seven Bridges Road (Steve Young cover)
Take It Easy
One of These Nights
Take It to the Limit
Tequila Sunrise
Witchy Woman
In the City (Joe Walsh song)
I Can’t Tell You Why
Peaceful Easy Feeling (Jack Tempchin cover)
Those Shoes
Lyin’ Eyes
Love Will Keep Us Alive
Walk Away (James Gang cover)
Life’s Been Good (Joe Walsh song)
Already Gone (Jack Tempchin cover)
The Boys of Summer (Don Henley song)
Funk #49 (James Gang cover)
Heartache Tonight

Encore:
Rocky Mountain Way (Joe Walsh song)
Desperado
The Long Run
Best of My Love

And the remaining dates on the tour, which concludes with a vaccinated-only show in Seattle on Nov. 5:

Wednesday, August 25 New York, NY Madison Square Garden
Friday, August 27 Boston, MA TD Garden
Friday, August 28 Boston, MA TD Garden
Tuesday, August 31 Washington, D.C. Capital One Arena
Wed., September 1 Washington, D.C. Capital One Arena
Thu, Sep 16, 2021 Denver, CO Ball Arena
Sat, Sep 18, 2021 Denver, CO Ball Arena
Mon, Sep 20, 2021 Dallas, TX American Airlines Center
Tue, Sep 21, 2021 Dallas, TX American Airlines Center
Fri, Sep 24, 2021 Phoenix, AZ Phoenix Suns Arena
Sat, Sep 25, 2021 Phoenix, AZ Phoenix Suns Arena
Tue, Sep 28, 2021 Omaha, NE CHI Health Center Omaha
Fri, Oct 1, 2021 St. Paul, MN Xcel Energy Center
Sat, Oct 2, 2021 St. Paul, MN Xcel Energy Center
Tue, Oct 12, 2021 Sacramento, CA Golden 1 Center
Fri, Oct 15, 2021 Los Angeles, CA Forum
Sat, Oct 16, 2021 Los Angeles, CA Forum
Tue, Oct 19, 2021 Los Angeles, CA Forum
Fri, Oct 22, 2021 San Francisco, CA Chase Center
Sat, Oct 23, 2021 San Francisco, CA Chase Center
Fri, Nov 5, 2021 Seattle, WA Climate Pledge Arena
Sat, Nov 6, 2021 Seattle, WA Climate Pledge Arena


SHARE.


Related Posts