Out Now: Dinosaur Jr. Returns with New Album ‘Sweep It Into Space’ (Listen)

dinosaur jr sweep it into space

Groundbreaking and revered alt/indie band Dinosaur Jr. is approaching its fourth decade(!) of activity, but J. Mascis and his band mates are showing no signs of slowing down.

Sweep It Into Space is the title of the band’s new record, and it’s out today. The 12th Dinosaur Jr. studio album to date and the follow-up to Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not, the new songs are not a product of the pandemic — rather, the band intended to release the album in mid-2020:

Originally scheduled for mid-2020, this record’s temporal trajectory was thwarted by the coming of the Plague, was how the context of Sweep It Into Space was phrased in a statement.

Click here to pick up Sweep It Into Space on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pick up Sweep It Into Space on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

The album was previewed in recent weeks with a handful of songs, including “I Ran Away” — which features Kurt Vile on 12-string guitar:

The recording process with Vile for that song became interrupted by the pandemic, at which point band leader J. Mascis took over. Per a press release:

J Mascis “ended up just mimicking a few things he’d done. I was listening to a lot of  Thin Lizzy, so I was trying to get some of that dueling twin lead sound. But the recording session was pretty well finished by the time things really hit the fan. When the lockdown happened in March, that meant I was on my own. But it was cool.”

“Take It Back” was the last pre-release song debuted from the album, and it received a Claymation music video:

To commemorate the release of  the album, Dinosaur Jr. will play a livestream performance from the Sinclair in Boston, MA on May 1st at 9pm EST. Tickets are available via NoCap, with upgrade options for exclusive merchandise and VIP Soundcheck Experience available as well.

The phrase “aging like a fine wine” is cliché when used in reference to seasoned musical acts releasing impressive collections of new music, but, well, it’s a cliché that fits Dinosaur Jr. Sweep It Into Space. Take a listen to the record below:

Catch Dinosaur Jr. on the road — either in the coming weeks socially-distant style or in the fall, with less restrictions on live music hopefully in place:

Sat. May 22 – Swanzey, NH @ Cheshire Fairgrounds – SOCIALLY DISTANCED
Sun. May 23 – New Haven @ CT Westville Music Bowl  – SOCIALLY DISTANCED
Tue. July 27 – Fri. July 30 – Big Indian, NY @ Camp Fuzz
Tue. Sept. 7 – Montreal, QC @ Corona Theatre
Thu. Sept. 9 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall
Fri. Sept. 10 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Venue TBA
Sat. Sept. 11 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre
Mon. Sept. 13 – Madison, WI @ Majestic Theatre
Tue. Sept. 14 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Thu. Sept. 16 – St. Louis, MO @ The Pageant
Mon. Sept. 20 – Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room
Tue. Sept. 21 – Kansas City, MO @ Truman
Thu. Sept. 23 – Austin, TX @ Moody Theater @ ACL Live
Fri. Sept. 24 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall
Sat. Sept. 25 – Dallas, TX @ Canton Hall
Mon. Sept. 27 – Birmingham, AL @ Saturn
Tue. Sept. 28 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bluebird
Thu. Sept. 30 – Columbus, OH @ Athenaeum Theatre
Fri. Oct. 1 – Cleveland, OH @ Agora
Sat. Oct. 2 – Ithaca, NY @ State Theatre
Fri. Nov. 12 – Nashville, TN @ Brooklyn Bowl
Sat. Nov. 13 – Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade
Mon. Nov. 15 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle
Tue. Nov. 16 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Thu. Nov. 18 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Fri. Nov. 19 – New Haven, CT @ College Street Music Hall
Sat. Nov. 20 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel
Fri. Nov. 26 – Northampton, MA @ Academy of Music
Sat. Nov. 27 – Boston, MA @ House Of Blues
Thu. Feb. 3 – Pioneertown, CA @ Pappy’s and Harriets
Fri. Feb. 4 – Las Vegas, NV @ Brooklyn Bowl
Sat. Feb. 5 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Depot
Mon. Feb. 7 – Spokane, WA @ Knitting Factory Music Hall
Tue. Feb. 8 – Vancouver, BC @ Commodore Ballroom
Thu. Feb. 10 – Seattle, WA @ Showbox at Market
Fri. Feb. 11 – Portland, OR @ Venue TBA
Sat. Feb. 12 – Portland, OR @ Venue TBA
Tue. Feb. 15 – Sacramento, CA @ Ace of Spades
Wed. Feb. 16 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
Thu. Feb. 17 –  San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
Sat. Feb. 19 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda
Sun. Feb. 20 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda
Tue. Feb. 22 – San Diego, CA @ Observatory North Park
Wed. Feb. 23 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
Fri. Feb. 25 – Albuquerque, NM @ El Rey Theatre
Sat. Feb. 26 – Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre

By Rock Cellar Magazine Staff

Staff writer from Rock Cellar Magazine