Chris Shiflett (Foo Fighters) Announces New Solo LP ‘Hard Lessons,’ Premieres ‘Welcome To Your First Heartache’

Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

In addition to being the lead guitarist of Foo Fighters and committing to the heavy workload that job requires, Chris Shiflett is an accomplished solo artist. His new solo album, Hard Lessons, was officially announced on Friday ahead of its scheduled release date of June 14.

This will be Shiflett’s fourth solo album, and finds him working with GRAMMY-winning producer Dave Cobb, with whom Shiflett worked on his 2017 album West Coast Town.

Here’s the jangly “Welcome To Your First Heartache,” the first song released from Hard Lessons:

Said Shiflett of the record:

“I remember one night between Foo Fighters gigs last year I went out for dinner with Dave Cobb to chit chat about making this record. He said he had a vision of me playing through an old Marshall JCM-800. So, when it came time to record, we found one on Craigslist, cranked it up and it was perfect. I think this record hits a little closer to mixing everywhere I’ve been musically into one big blender and comes out something a little different. Since it was my second time working with Cobb and Co. out there at RCA Studio A, I kind of knew what to expect as far as his process, so I intentionally didn’t overthink or over-demo the songs because I didn’t want to get too stuck on any ideas I brought with me. I couldn’t be more excited about the results.”

Chris Shiflett will announce North American solo tour dates for the spring and summer shortly. Here’s the album’s track listing:

1. “Liar’s Word”
2. “This Ol’ World”
3. “Welcome To Your First Heartache”
4. “The Hardest Lessons”
5. “The One You Go Home To” (feat. Elizabeth Cook)
6. “Fool’s Gold”
7. “I Thought You’d Never Leave”
8. “Weak Heart”
9. “Marfa On My Mind”
10. “Leaving Again”


Related Posts