Chicago Postpones Summer Tour to 2021 Due to COVID-19, but Rick Springfield is Unable to Join New Tour


Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine
SHARE.

This summer was supposed to bring with it a crowd-pleasing tour involving Chicago and Rick Springfield, but the tour has been postponed due to ongoing concerns surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic.

The classic band announced the news on Thursday:

Rick Springfield announced that due to scheduling issues in looking ahead to his 2021 plans, he will unfortunately not be able to take part in the new shows.

Also affected by this news was Dauzat St. Marie, the Los Angeles singer/songwriter duo that was to open the tour.

View this post on Instagram

We won’t candy coat this. This feels like a wrecking ball to our very souls to report. Our Summer arena tour with Chicago and Rick Springfield has now officially been filed amongst the multitude of collateral tour losses due to this wretched pandemic. We all had high hopes that the silver lining from the last disappointing tour rescheduling announcement was that the tour was still happening in 2021, but that silver lining was merely a mirage. If you know us, you know we are the reigning champs at finding silver linings, but we are coming up short today. It’s very difficult to put into words the loss that we are feeling right now. This tour was not just the biggest and brightest opportunity of our careers, but it also represented what was set to be our grand triumphant return to the stage after a very long and exhausting breast cancer battle. We wanted this so badly we could taste it, but it truly warms our hearts that you all wanted this very badly for us as well. Thank you so much for the support and the virtual high fives along the way. This is definitely a setback…. but we are no stranger to setback. This is us… defeated, deflated, but DETERMINED. If you had tickets to any of the shows, LiveNation will send you an email with details to get your refund. You can also visit LiveNation.com/refund for more information.

A post shared by Dauzat St. Marie (@dauzatstmarie) on

The original dates for the tour, which was to begin on June 12:

Fri Jun 12 Concord, CA Concord Pavilion
Sat Jun 13 Inglewood, CA The Forum
Sun Jun 14 Irvine, CA Five Point Amphitheater
Tue Jun 16 Salt Lake City, UT USANA Amphitheatre
Thu Jun 18 Morrison, CO Red Rocks Amphitheatre
Sat Jun 20 Phoenix, AZ Ak-Chin Pavilion
Tue Jun 23 Maryland Heights, MO Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre
Wed Jun 24 Kansas City, MO Starlight Amphitheatre
Fri Jun 26 Dallas, TX Dos Equis Pavilion
Sat Jun 27 Woodlands, TX Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion presented by Huntsman
Sun Jun 28 Rogers, AR Walmart AMP
Wed Jul 01 Charlotte, NC PNC Music Pavilion
Thu Jul 02 Alpharetta, GA Ameris Bank Amphitheatre
Fri Jul 03 Tampa, FL MidFlorida Credit Union Amphitheatre
Fri Jul 17 Wantagh, NY Northwell Health at Jones Beach Theater
Sat Jul 18 Bethel, NY Bethel Woods Center for the Arts
Sun Jul 19 Mansfield, MA Xfinity Center
Tue Jul 21 Saratoga Springs, NY Saratoga Performing Arts Center
Wed Jul 22 Holmdel, NJ PNC Bank Arts Center
Fri Jul 24 Camden, NJ BB&T Pavilion
Sat Jul 25 Burgettstown, PA KeyBank Pavilion
Sun Jul 26 Toronto, ON Budweiser Stage
Tue Jul 28 Cincinnati, OH Riverbend Music Center
Wed Jul 29 Noblesville, IN Ruoff Home Mortgage Music Center
Fri Jul 31 Clarkston, MI DTE Energy Music Theatre
Sat Aug 01 Rosemont, IL Allstate Arena


SHARE.


Related Posts