‘CMT Remembers Charley Pride’ Special to Air 12/16 in Tribute to Late Country Legend


Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine
SHARE.

This past weekend’s news that country legend Charley Pride passed away at 86 due to complications from the coronavirus hit the music community hard.

In recognition of Pride’s influence, impact and legacy, CMT (Country Music Channel) announced CMT Remembers Charley Pride, a special that is scheduled to air this Wednesday, Dec. 16 at 8 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. CT / 5 p.m. PT, with encore broadcasts set for Thursday, December 17 (9 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. CT / 6 a.m. PT) and Saturday, December 19th (12 p.m. ET/11 a.m. CT / 9 a.m. PT).

A bit more about CMT Remembers Charley Pride, per a news release:

As part of a special tribute announced today by CMT, ‘ CMT Remembers Charley Pride’ is a celebration honoring the extraordinary life and legacy of one of the most influential, decorated, and impactful country artists in the history of the genre. Featuring three decades of interviews and commentary from Pride himself, blended alongside archival footage of his greatest hits and most memorable performances, the half-hour event follows the Country Music Hall of Famer from his humble beginnings in Mississippi to his rise to CMA Entertainer of the Year with an unprecedented string of hits. Despite facing pervasive racism throughout this legendary career, Pride’s perseverance and unmatched talent transcended generations, broke down barriers, and blazed a new path for black country artists.

The special will include appearances and footage from some of Pride’s closest friends, colleagues, and admirers, including Darius Rucker, Loretta Lynn, Merle Haggard, Tim McGraw, Shania Twain, and more, alongside his beloved family, his wife Rozene, son Dion, sister Maxine and his brother Joe.

As for memorial services pertaining to Charley Pride, his family and close friends will hold a private wake and memorial in Dallas this week, with future plans for a public celebration of life memorial ceremony to be announced at a later date. In lieu of flowers, the family asks for donations to The Pride Scholarship at Jesuit College Preparatory School, St. Philips School and Community center, any local food bank, or the charity of your choice.


SHARE.


Related Posts