Blue Öyster Cult Shares New Video for ‘Tainted Blood’; New Album ‘The Symbol Remains’ Out 10/9 (Pre-Order)

Categories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Blue Öyster Cult is back in a big way — and the hard-rock legends are prepping a new studio album, The Symbol Remains, which will be released on Oct. 9.

(Click here to pre-order Blue Öyster Cult’s The Symbol Remains from our Rock Cellar Store).

On Friday, the band shared its newest song and music video from the record. Experience “Tainted Blood,” featuring lead vocals from guitarist Richie Castellano, below:

BÖC’s 15th studio album overall and the first since 2001, the album has been previewed thus far with a pair of singles, most recently “Box in My Head,” with a video of its own:

And “That Was Me,” featuring a guest appearance from founding member Albert Bouchard:

The Symbol Remains features 14 songs, and is the result of the group’s meticulous work on the album — a process that began in 2019 and incorporated new material as well as pre-existing song fragments members that were already in the works.

“With the song demos emerging for this record, we realized there was as much if not more variety in style and content on this record as any in our history,” says Eric Bloom “We embraced this and the thing tying all the disparate elements together is the band’s sound and performance.”

“The goal was for the new music to stand up to the quality and vitality of our legacy recordings, and I believe we have successfully done that,” adds Donald “Buck Dharma” Roeser. “Other than that, the sound of our voices and style of our writing and playing can’t help but sound familiar to fans of our work.”

As for how the band worked on new music remotely during the middle of a global pandemic — such a strange, frustrating time for us all:

“The COVID-19 lockdown slowed the completion of the record. We were prevented from traveling and collaborating in person. But luckily we had already done the basic tracks. We resorted to video conferencing and producing each other over the internet. Fortunately, the technology exists at this moment in time to do that. The live performance cancellations gave us a little more time to carefully consider the finishing touches. We also sent the album out to be mixed by Tom Lord-Alge and we worked together over the internet on that as well,” said Buck Dharma.

Despite the obstacles, they did it — and Blue Öyster Cult is back. The album’s track listing:

1. That Was Me
2. Box In My Head
3. Tainted Blood
4. Nightmare Epiphany
5. Edge Of The World
6. The Machine
7. Train True (Lennie’s Song)
8. The Return Of St. Cecilia
9. Stand And Fight
10. Florida Man
11. The Alchemist
12. Secret Road
13. There’s A Crime
14. Fight


Related Posts