Check out our Youtube Channel

Video interviews with all your favorite stars!

Download all your music here

Blink-182 Took a Chance with Their New Song ‘Blame It On My Youth,’ and It Works (Listen)

0

When Blink-182 forged on without founding guitarist/co-vocalist Tom DeLonge, fans were largely curious if the hugely successful alt/punk band would find its own voice with new guitarist, Matt Skiba of Alkaline Trio.

On Wednesday, the band premiered a new single titled “Blame It On My Youth,” off a forthcoming studio album that serves as the follow-up to 2016’s California. The track, featuring some electronic-tinged production and led by drummer Travis Barker’s signature rhythm, is extremely catchy — but the overall feel of the song is somewhat surprising:

The lyrics, delivered by bassist/vocalist Mark Hoppus and Skiba, are thoughtful, reflecting on past mistakes and the like in a way that  resonates. Musically, it veers far away from the pop/punk sound the band has become known for over the years — and it really works.

If this is a preview of what’s to come with the next Blink-182 album, fans have plenty to feel excited for, especially because this track goes down a different path than much of what was on California.

Blink-182 also recently announced a big co-headlining summer tour with Lil Wayne, here are the dates:

Thu Jun 27 Columbus, OH Nationwide Arena
Sat Jun 29 Hartford, CT XFINITY Theatre
Sun Jun 30 Atlantic City, NJ Vans Warped Tour*
Mon Jul 01 Saratoga Springs, NY Saratoga Performing Arts Center
Wed Jul 03 Indianapolis, IN Ruoff Home Mortgage Music Center
Fri Jul 05 Hershey, PA Hersheypark Stadium
Sat Jul 06 Burgettstown, PA KeyBank Pavilion
Sun Jul 07 Toronto, ON Budweiser Stage*
Tue Jul 09 Holmdel, NJ P.N.C. Bank Arts Center*
Wed Jul 10 Mansfield, MA Xfinity Center
Thu Jul 11 Bristow, VA Jiffy Lube Live
Sat Jul 13 Bangor, ME Darling’s Waterfront Pavilion
Tue Jul 16 Cuyahoga Falls, OH Blossom Music Center
Wed Jul 17 Darien Center, NY Darien Lake Amphitheatre
Sat Jul 20 Virginia Beach, VA Veterans United Home Loans Amphitheater
Sun Jul 21 Columbia, MD Merriweather Post Pavilion
Tue Jul 23 Charlotte, NC PNC Music Pavilion
Thu Jul 25 West Palm Beach, FL Coral Sky Amphitheatre
Fri Jul 26 Tampa, FL MIDFLORIDA Credit Union Amphitheatre
Sat Jul 27 Atlanta, GA Cellairis Amphitheatre at Lakewood
Mon Jul 29 Jacksonville, FL Daily’s Place
Wed Jul 31 Houston, TX Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion
Thu Aug 01 Austin, TX Austin360 Amphitheater
Fri Aug 02 Dallas, TX The Dos Equis Pavilion
Sun Aug 04 El Paso, TX Don Haskins Center*
Mon Aug 05 Phoenix, AZ Ak-Chin Pavilion
Wed Aug 07 San Diego, CA North Island Credit Union Amphitheatre
Thu Aug 08 Los Angeles, CA The Forum
Tue Aug 27 Irvine, CA FivePoint Amphitheatre
Fri Aug 30 Portland, OR Sunlight Supply Amphitheater
Sat Aug 31 Seattle, WA White River Amphitheatre
Mon Sep 02 Salt Lake City, UT USANA Amphitheatre
Wed Sep 04 Denver, CO Pepsi Center
Fri Sep 06 Wichita, KS Hartman Arena*
Sat Sep 07 Council Bluffs, IA Stir Cove*
Sun Sep 08 Kansas City, MO Providence Medical Center Amphitheater
Tue Sep 10 Detroit, MI DTE Energy Music Theatre
Fri Sept 13 Chicago, IL Riot Fest*
Sat Sep 14 St. Louis, MO Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre
Mon Sep 16 Cincinnati, OH Riverbend Music Center

*blink-182 only

Share.

About Author

Leave A Reply