Marvin Gaye’s Shelved 1972 Album ‘You’re the Man’ Set for Release 3/29

Marvin Gaye’s Shelved 1972 Album ‘You’re the Man’ Set for Release 3/29

The breakaway success of Marvin Gaye‘s 1971 album What’s Going On put the soul singer in an understandable amount of creative pressure — he’d need to issue a follow-up that capitalized on its amazing reception, but he didn’t quite get there with his first attempt.

The single “You’re the Man,” intended as the first hit from an album of the same name, didn’t catch on as he and Motown had anticipated, the record was shelved.

Many of the songs Gaye recorded at the time never saw the light of day in the form of an official release, but it’ll be coming out on March 29 via Motown/UMe. Pre-order a copy of the vinyl set here.

More details, via the press release:

In this singular and transitional year for the late music legend, Gaye recorded more than an album’s worth of music in Detroit and L.A. He produced himself, creating a suite of aching ballads; he worked with songwriters-becoming-producers Willie Hutch, then known mainly for the Jackson 5 smash “I’ll Be There,” but soon to be lauded for his film scores to The Mack and Foxy Brown; and with Pam Sawyer and Gloria Jones, whose “Piece of Clay” for Marvin decades later became a smash in the 1995 film Phenomenon. He cut two sought-after tracks with Freddie Perren and Fonce Mizell, half of the hit-making machine behind the Jackson 5; he got together with Hal Davis, who was preparing a Marvin Gaye-Diana Ross album, to cut another topical gem, “The World Is Rated X.” And Marvin funnelled his anger over the Vietnam War, and his brother’s experiences there, into a sequel of sorts to “What’s Going On,” the poetic holiday ballad, “I Want To Come Home For Christmas.” He even re-cut “You’re The Man” as an eerie funk jam, perhaps for the LP as a bookend to the single.

None of these tracks or any other on the LP, except the single, were issued at the time.

There’s also a plan for another collection from the vaults of the late, great Marvin Gaye in the works as well:

In addition to You’re The Man, Motown/UMe will release a new expanded edition of Marvin Gaye’s 1965 album, A Tribute To The Great Nat King Cole, digitally on March 15. Honoring what would have been Cole’s 100th birthday, the album’s original mono mix makes its digital debut with the new edition, which also adds more than a dozen bonus tracks, including six alternate takes from the studio sessions.

Here’s the track listing for the 2-LP set of You’re the Man:

Side 1

Produced by Marvin Gaye (1), Hal Davis (2), Gloria Jones and Pamela Sawyer (3), Freddie Perren and Fonce Mizell (4)

  1. You’re The Man  5:45
  2. The World Is Rated X  3:50
  3. Piece of Clay  5:10
  4. Where Are We Going?  3:53

Side 2

Produced by Willie Hutch

  1. I’m Gonna Give You Respect  2:55
  2. Try It, You’ll Like It  3:55
  3. You Are That Special One  3:35
  4. We Can Make It Baby  3:20

Side 3

Produced by Marvin Gaye except *Freddie Perren and Fonce Mizell

Mixes for tracks 1-3, by SaLaAM ReMi, and track 5, by Art Stewart, are previously unreleased.

  1. My Last Chance 3:40
  2. Symphony  2:52
  3. I’d Give My Life For You  3:31
  4. Woman of the World*  3:30
  5. Christmas In the City (instrumental)  3:48

Side 4

Produced by Marvin Gaye

  1. You’re The Man Version 2 4:40
  2. I Want to Come Home For Christmas  4:48
  3. I’m Going Home (Move)  4:38
  4. Checking Out (Double Clutch)  4:50

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.