Mark Knopfler Premieres ‘Good On You Son,’ Off New Album ‘Down the Road Wherever,’ Out 11/16 (Listen)

Mark Knopfler Premieres ‘Good On You Son,’ Off New Album ‘Down the Road Wherever,’ Out 11/16 (Listen)

On November 16, revered guitarist/songwriter Mark Knopfler (formerly of Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees Dire Straits) will release his ninth solo album, Down the Road Wherever. The news was officially announced on Wednesday, and with it came the premiere of a smooth song titled “Good On You Son.”

Stream the track below:

The album, Knopfler’s first since 2015’s Tracker, features 14 new songs ranging in theme. As the official announcement detailed, the material covers Knopfler’s “early days in Deptford with Dire Straits, a stray soccer fan lost in a strange town, the compulsion of a musician hitching home through the snow and a man out of time in his local greasy spoon diner.”

As for “Good On You Son,” the first preview of the new record, Knopfler reflects as follows:

“Down The Road Wherever’ is a line from [album track] ‘One Song At A Time.’ I remember my pal Chet Atkins once saying that he picked his way out of poverty ‘one song at a time,’ and it just stuck in my mind. You get to an age where you’ve written quite a few songs. But Down The Road Wherever seems to be appropriate for me just because it’s what I’ve always done. I’ve always tried to make a record and also to keep my own geography happening in the songs.”

He worked with a number of talented musicians, whose talents appear throughout the album’s 14 tracks:

The band features Knopfler on guitars, Jim Cox and Guy Fletcher on keyboards, Nigel Hitchcock on saxophone, Tom Walsh on trumpet, John McCusker on fiddle, Mike McGoldrick on whistle and flute, Glenn Worf on bass, Ian ‘Ianto’ Thomas on drums and Danny Cummings on percussion. Richard Bennett and Robbie McIntosh also feature on guitar, Trevor Mires on trombone, and Imelda May, Kris Drever, Lance Ellington, Beverley Skeete and Katie Kissoon all add backing vocals.

The track listing:

1. “Trapper Man”
2. “Back On The Dance Floor”
3. “Nobody’s Child”
4. “Just A Boy Away From Home”
5. “When You Leave”
6. “Good On You Son”
7. “My Bacon Roll”
8. “Nobody Does That”
9. “Drovers’ Road”*
10. “One Song At A Time”
11. “Floating Away”
12. “Slow Learner”
13. “Heavy Up”
14. “Rear View Mirror”*
15. “Every Heart In The Room”*
16. “Matchstick Man”

*Deluxe Edition CD bonus tracks

One Response to "Mark Knopfler Premieres ‘Good On You Son,’ Off New Album ‘Down the Road Wherever,’ Out 11/16 (Listen)"

  1. Dr Mikey   September 20, 2018 at 8:58 am

    He creates a good groove on almost all his songs. This one reminds me of J.J. Cale. If I had his talent, I think I’d show off a little more on guitar on more songs.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.