Hear Joan Baez’s ‘Whistle Down the Wind,’ the Title Track from Her New Album Out in March

Hear Joan Baez’s ‘Whistle Down the Wind,’ the Title Track from Her New Album Out in March

Singer, activist, musician, cultural icon. Joan Baez is all of those things, and will add to her rich catalog of music when she releases a new studio album, Whistle Down the Wind, on March 2.

Baez announced the new record on Monday, and also premiered its title track. Listen to that lush, elegant recording below:

Whistle Down the Wind was recorded over a ten-day period in Los Angeles and was produced by Joe Henry (who’s worked with Bonnie Raitt, Allen Toussaint and more). The record features Baez singing songs written by Tom Waits, Josh Ritter, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Eliza Gilkyson, Anohni and more.

It’ll be Baez’s first new album since 2008’s Day After Tomorrow. She recently stated that 2018 would be her final year of formal touring, and she plans to get out on the road in support of Whistle Down the Wind:

“I’m looking forward to being on the road with a beautiful new album about which I am truly proud. I welcome the opportunity to share this new music as well as longtime favorites with my audiences around the world.”

Full tour dates will be announced soon.

The track listing for the album:

1. “Whistle Down The Wind” (Tom Waits and Kathleen Brennan)
2. “Be Of Good Heart” (Josh Ritter)
3. “Another World” (Anohni)
4. “Civil War” (Joe Henry)
5. “The Things We Are Made Of” (Mary Chapin Carpenter)
6. “The President Sang Amazing Grace” (Zoe Mulford)
7. “Last Leaf” (Tom Waits and Kathleen Brennan)
8. “Silver Blade” (Josh Ritter)
9. “The Great Correction” (Eliza Gilkyson)
10. “I Wish The Wars Were All Over” (Tim Eriksen)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.