New Jimi Hendrix Collection ‘Both Sides of the Sky’ Out 3/9, Featuring Previously Unheard Songs

New Jimi Hendrix Collection ‘Both Sides of the Sky’ Out 3/9, Featuring Previously Unheard Songs

The Jimi Hendrix vault remains fully untapped — even after an abundance of posthumous releases — and there’s another one coming soon.

On March 9, Experience Hendrix and Legacy Recordings will release Both Sides of the Sky, a collection of tracks from Hendrix recorded between 1968-1970. Ten of these recordings have never been officially released before, making this an intriguing album, for sure.

Both Sides of the Sky is the third part of a trilogy of albums the Hendrix estate has released in recent years in an effort to dig into the archives for seldom-heard material from the guitar legend, who of course passed away much too young at 27. First was 2010’s Valleys of Neptune, which was followed three years later by People, Hell and Angels.

(On a related note, click here to enjoy our feature in which classic rock icons recall their first experiences hearing Jimi Hendrix’s music. Also relevant: Remembering Hendrix and the Band of Gypsys: Q&A with Billy Cox.)

Some insight into Both Sides of the Sky:

Recorded between January 1968 and February 1970, Jimi’s desire to push the boundaries of blues music can be heard throughout. Both Sides of the Sky additionally highlights Jimi’s mastery of studio production and his increasing use of these facilities as a proving ground for new sounds, material, and techniques. Many of the album’s tracks were recorded by the trio that would come to be known as Band of Gypsys: Jimi on guitar and vocals, Billy Cox on bass, and Buddy Miles on drums.  For their first-ever recording session on April 22, 1969, Hendrix turned to their shared musical root, delta blues. Their previously unreleased, uptempo reworking of Muddy Waters’ “Mannish Boy” opens the album and sets the tempo for what follows. “Lover Man” was a favored Hendrix original and the guitarist was determined to realize a finished master.  Previous attempts by the original Experience had yet to yield this for Hendrix but this December 1969 effort by the Band Of Gypsys — complete with its homage to the popular Batman theme song—was his strongest effort to date.

The track listing:

1)    “Mannish Boy”*

2)    “Lover Man”*

3)    “Hear My Train A Comin’”*

4)    “Stepping Stone”*

5)    “$20 Fine”*+

6)    “Power Of Soul’^

7)    “Jungle”*

8)    “Things I Used to Do”#

9)    “Georgia Blues”++

10)  “Sweet Angel”*

11)  “Woodstock”*+

12) ” Send My Love To Linda”*

13)  “Cherokee Mist”*

*Previously unreleased

^ Previously unavailable extended version

+Featuring Stephen Stills

#Featuring Johnny Winter

++Featuring Lonnie Youngblood

Pre-orders for Both Sides of the Sky are up now at this link.

One Response to "New Jimi Hendrix Collection ‘Both Sides of the Sky’ Out 3/9, Featuring Previously Unheard Songs"

  1. PAUL DEAN   December 9, 2017 at 1:23 am

    These series have all been in Great Quality – ! and very welcome of course .Jimis music remains to be inspirational to up and coming generations ! Long may it be so .


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.