25th Anniversary Reissue of R.E.M.’s ‘Automatic For the People’ Out 11/10; Stream ‘Mike’s Pop Song’

25th Anniversary Reissue of R.E.M.’s ‘Automatic For the People’ Out 11/10; Stream ‘Mike’s Pop Song’

In 1992, R.E.M. released their eighth full-length album, Automatic for the People. A challenging but deeply fulfilling listen, it featured six singles, among them “Everybody Hurts,” “Nightswimming” and “Man on the Moon.” The album has gone on to sell upwards of 18 million copies worldwide, and is one of the landmark releases from the revered band.

On November 10, a deluxe 25th anniversary reissue of the album will be released via Craft Recordings. It’ll obviously be remastered, but the Deluxe Anniversary Edition will be mixed in Dolby Atmos, which, according to the press release, is a big deal.

This technology delivers a leap forward from surround sound with expansive, flowing audio that immerses the listener far beyond what stereo can offer. It transports the listener inside the recording studio with multi-dimensional audio—evoking a time when listening to music was an active, transformative experience, and reigniting the emotion you felt when you first heard the album in 1992. R.E.M.’s Automatic For The People is the first album to be commercially released in this expressive, breathtaking format.

Not only that, the reissue will also come complete with an extensive amount of additional material, which the band previewed with a demo recording titled “Mike’s Pop Song.” Here’s that:

Other bonus material includes a live album from 1992, a 60-page book with photos taken by Anton Corbjin and Melodie Marcussen, a companion Blu-ray and much more. Pre-orders are up at R.E.M.’s official site right now.

Here’s the Deluxe track listing so you can fully appreciate the scope of this reissue:

11.   Howler Monkey (demo)

12.   Pakiderm (demo)
13.   Afterthought (demo)
14.   Bazouki Song (demo)
15.   Photograph (demo)
16.   Michael’s Organ (demo)
17.   Pete’s Acoustic Idea (demo)
18.   6-8 Passion & Voc (demo)
19.   Hey Love [Mike voc] (demo)
20.   Devil Rides Backwards (demo)
Disc 1 – Automatic For The People
1.     Drive
2.     Try Not to Breathe
3.     The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite
4.     Everybody Hurts
5.     New Orleans Instrumental No. 1
6.     Sweetness Follows
7.     Monty Got A Raw Deal
8.     Ignoreland
9.     Star Me Kitten
10.   Man on the Moon
11.   Nightswimming

12.   Find the River

Disc 2 – Live At The 40 Watt Club  

1.     Drive
2.     Monty Got A Raw Deal
3.     Everybody Hurts
4.     Man On The Moon
5.     Losing My Religion
6.     Country Feedback
7.     Begin The Begin
8.     Fall On Me
9.     Me In Honey
10.   Finest Worksong
11.   Love Is All Around
12.   Funtime
13.   Radio Free Europe

Disc 3 – Automatic For The People Demos  

1.     Drive (demo)
2.     Wake Her Up (demo)
3.     Mike’s Pop Song (demo)
4.     C to D Slide 13 (demo)
5.     Cello Scud (demo)
6.     10K Minimal (demo)
7.     Peter’s New Song (demo)
8.     Eastern 983111 (demo)
9.     Bill’s Acoustic (demo)
10.   Arabic Feedback (demo)

Disc 4 – Automatic For The People Blu-Ray

1.     Automatic For The People (+ bonus track: Photograph) mixed in Dolby Atmos
2.     Automatic For The People (+ bonus track: Photograph) Hi-Resolution Audio
3.     Drive  (music video)
4.     The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite (music video)
5.     Everybody Hurts (music video)
6.     Man On The Moon (music video)
7.     Nightswimming (music video: British version)
8.     Find The River (music video)
9.     Nightswimming (music video: R version)
10.     Automatic Press Kit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.