Out 9/21: ‘Bidin’ My Time,’ a New Tom Petty-Produced Album from the Byrds’ Chris Hillman

Out 9/21: ‘Bidin’ My Time,’ a New Tom Petty-Produced Album from the Byrds’ Chris Hillman

In terms of heavy hitters, it’ll be hard to top the upcoming album from Chris Hillman.

On September 22, Rounder Records will release Bidin’ My Time, a new studio album from the founding member of the Byrds, and he worked with some seriously legendary friends this time around. The album was produced by Tom Petty, and the list of special guests who appear on the album is vast: David Crosby, Roger McGuinn, Desert Rose Band alumni Herb Pedersen, John Jorgenson, Jay Dee Maness, Mike Campbell, Steve Ferrone and Benmont Tench of the Heartbreakers, Mark Fain, Josh Jove and Gabe Witcher all make appearances.

Here’s a short video teaser for the album:

And here’s the album’s track listing:

1.  “Bells of Rhymney”
2.  “Bidin’ My Time”
3.  “Given All I Can See”
4.  “Different Rivers”
5.  “Here She Comes Again”
6.  “Walk Right Back”
7.  “Such Is The World That We Live In”
8.  “When I Get a Little Money”
9.  “She Don’t Care About Time”
10.”New Old John Robertson”
11. “Restless”

Hillman, Jorgenson and Pedersen announced some tour dates, as well:

9/23                Fall River, MA                         Narrows Center for the Arts
9/24                Boston, MA                             City Winery
9/26                Alexandria, VA                        The Birchmere
9/29                Duluth, GA                             The Red Clay Theatre
10/1                Nashville, TN                          City Winery
10/4                Newport, KY                          Southgate House Revival
10/5                Kent, OH                                Kent Stage
10/6                Chicago, IL                              Old Town School of Folk Music
10/7                Edwardsville, IL                      The Wildey Theatre
10/12              Bakersfield, CA                        Buck Owens’ Crystal Palace
10/13              Berkeley, CA                            Freight & Salvage
10/16              West Hollywood, CA              The Troubadour
10/26-28         Park City, UT                          The Egyptian Theatre
11/8                Baton Rouge, LA                     Red Dragon Listening Room
11/9                The Woodlands, TX                Dosey Doe Barn
11/10              Austin, TX                               Texas Union Theater
1/27/18          Thousand Oaks, Ca.                 Scherr Theatre

7 Responses to "Out 9/21: ‘Bidin’ My Time,’ a New Tom Petty-Produced Album from the Byrds’ Chris Hillman"

  1. Exapno Mapcase   June 29, 2017 at 1:40 am

    He’s fantastic and sounds great. Why he wants to re-record old songs is beyond me.

    • PeteRNY   July 1, 2017 at 6:52 am

      Hey, Harpo, wattup? (I love the name. We both probably read the same book about the brothers)

  2. Wilber Goodfellow   June 30, 2017 at 2:10 pm

    Because the songs are classic and good…

  3. PAUL DEAN   July 1, 2017 at 11:14 am

    WOW ! really looking forward to this and produced by A BIG Byrds fan Tom Petty , Chris is an American Legend , Cheers USA from Liverpool England

  4. Bob Greenfield   September 16, 2017 at 5:16 pm

    Well , I’ll be ! Chris is a gem as is Herb . Knee high to a grasshopper as a surfin’ teen in CM , NJ , I took flight on the wings of the Byrds . They inspired me , along with the Beatles , to write tunes . Great stress reducer . Miss the amazing Gene Clark . Also a shame Roger doesn’t want a re-do with Chris and David . To hear new songs produced by Tom Petty would be a simple joy . Anyway , this will suffice . Always kept an eye on Chris whether he was ” Slippin’ Away ” or ” Bidin’ His Time ” , he’s the real deal . In a nod to the past Byrds , I still think the world turns all around them . 😎👏

  5. dj   October 1, 2017 at 11:21 am

    Great album, I like the re-makes of the the old Byrds songs! Very well done.
    I saw McGuinn last night in concert and he was flawless! If only Gene Clark was still around…. sigh.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.